Search Shop
Clemson Men’s Track & Field Qualifies Two For The NCAA Championships In The Heptathlon

Clemson Men’s Track & Field Qualifies Two For The NCAA Championships In The Heptathlon

Jan. 31, 2004


CLEMSON, SC – Clemson’s Ryan Hunter were two of four student-athletes to qualify for the NCAA Championships at the Clemson Heptathlon Championships held this weekend. All four top finishers were qualifiers in the first heptathlon championships contested at the new Clemson Indoor Track and Field Complex. Maurice Smith of Auburn automatically qualified for the national meet and set the Clemson indoor record with 5,725 points, while Clemson’s Hill took second place with a provisional qualifying total of 5,431 points. Tennessee’s Chris Helwick finished in third place with 5,210 points and Ryan Hunter of Clemson was the fourth-place finisher with 5,114 points. Clemson’s Brent Hobbs finished in seventh place with 4,900 points, and Ryan Koontz was 14th with 3,649 points.

In the 60m hurdles, Smith claimed the event with a time of 8.17, while Jangy Addy clocked an 8.22. Clemson’s Hill finished third with his time of 8.29. Brent Hobbs crossed the line in 8.33, Ryan Koontz ran an 8.41, and Hunter completed the race in 8.53.

Hunter cleared 15’9″ to capture the pole vault competition, and Stephen Harris posted a mark of 15’5″ to place second. Smith was the third-place finisher with his mark of 15’1″. Hill cleared 14’9″ and Hobbs recorded a mark of 14’1.25″.

In the final event of the competition, Hill broke the tape in 2:44.83 to win the 1000m run. Smith finished second in 2:47.68, and Tennessee’s Kevin Yeager took third in 2:48.11. Clemson’s Koontz clocked a 2:58.45, Hunter ran a 3:06.03 and Hobbs posted a time of 3:16.01.

Clemson men’s track and field returns to action next weekend, February 6-7, at the Illinois Invitational.

Final Results 1. Maurice Smith, Auburn, 5,725 points 2. Rick Hill, Clemson, 5,431 points 3. Chris Helwick, Tennessee, 5,210 points 4. Ryan Hunter, Clemson, 5,114 points 5. Blake Sabo, Tennessee, 5,082 points 6. Alex Hritcu, Tennessee, 4,968 points 7. Brent Hobbs, Clemson, 4,900 points 8. Dan Queen, Appalachian State, 4,460 points 9. Ned Ashley, Auburn, 4,439 points 10. Russell Landy, Miami, 4,351 points 11. Kevin Yeager, Tennessee, 4,278 points 12. Jangy Addy, Unattached, 4,265 points 13. Bobby Robinson, Western Carolina, 4,188 points 14. Ryan Koontz, Clemson, 3,649 points 15. Ryan Fussell, Western Carolina, 3,383 points 16. Stephen Harris, Unattached, 3,217 points points