Search Shop
Clemson Football Receives Gator Bowl Invitation

Clemson Football Receives Gator Bowl Invitation

Nov. 14, 2000

Clemson, SC – Clemson was extended a bid to the Gator Bowl on Tuesday afternoon. This will be the eighth appearance for the Tigers in this contest, the first since 1995. The contest will be held January 1, 2001 at Alltell Stadium in Jacksonville, FL. The contest will kickoff at 12:30 PM and will be televised by NBC.

Gator Bowl officials said that Clemson’s likely opponent would either be Virginia Tech or Notre Dame. Clemson’s opponent might not be known until after the Bowl Championship Series selections on December 3.

This will be the second consecutive year the Tigers have been to a bowl game under Tommy Bowden. Bowden joins Charley Pell as the only coach in Clemson history to take the Tigers to a bowl in each of his first two years. Pell did not coach in the bowl game at the end of his second year, however, as he had resigned to go to the University of Florida.

“We are very excited to go to the Gator Bowl,” said Bowden, who was given the invitation in the middle of his weekly Tuesday press conference. “The Gator Bowl has a great tradition and Clemson is a part of that tradition.

“It is a great reward for our team and coaches. But, obviously all of our concentration this week centers around the South Carolina game.”

This will be Clemson’s eighth appearance in the Gator Bowl. The Tigers have a 4-3 record in the previous three. Clemson’s first appearance in the bowl was in 1948, as the Tigers concluded a perfect season with a 24-23 win over Missouri. Clemson also participated in the Gator Bowl at the conclusion of the 1951, 1977, 1978, 1986, 1989 and 1995 seasons.

Overall, this will be Clemson’s 24th appearance in a bowl game, its 13th in the last 16 years. The Tigers are 12-11 in bowl competition in history. Clemson’s .522 winning percentage is 15th best in NCAA history, giving a minimum of 15 appearances.

Clemson’s Gator Bowl History
Year Opponent W-L Score
1948 Missouri W 24-23
1951 Miami (FL) W 15-14
1977 Pittsburgh L 3-34
1978 Ohio State W 17-15
1986 Stanford W 27-21
1989 West Virginia W 27-7
1995 Syracuse L 0-41