Search Shop

Clemson Football Freshman Report

Aug. 4, 1999

CLEMSON, S.C. – Clemson Head Coach Tommy Bowden welcomed 20 scholarship freshman and eight walk-on freshmen to campus on Wednesday afternoon. Bowden announced that the entire class had been approved by the NCAA Clearinghouse, the first time that Clemson will open practice without any NCAA eligibility questionmarks for the rookie class.

Bowden was pleased with the physical condition and punctuality of his class. “This is certainly a good way to start, a good sign,” said Bowden. “Our coaches stayed on top of the situation and the people in the compliance office did a good job getting the necessary paper work processed.

“This is a solid class academically. This is a class that is going to be productive on the field and in the classroom. They will represent Clemson well. We are looking for some of these freshmen to make an impact early.

“That could be the case especially on offense because these freshmen are really just 15 practices behind the veterans in terms of adapting to this offensive system. These freshmen will have a better chance of stepping in than future freshman classes.”

The 20 scholarship freshmen who reported on Wednesday do not include J.J. McKelvey and Eric Meekins. Both of those players, who will be first-year freshmen in 1999 in terms of eligibility, entered Clemson in January and will report with the veterans on Sunday.

The 28 rookies who reported on Wednesday will go through an academic orientation day on Thursday. The first practices will be held Friday, at 10:00 AM and 4:45 PM. Practices are closed to the public.

The eight walk-on freshmen who reported on Wednesday are Tyler McClure, OL, Inman, SC, Tyrone Lee, LB, Effingham, SC, Matt Thompson, WR, Gainesville, FL, Ron Allen, RB, Folsom, LA, David Padgett, TE, Walterboro, SC, Toure Francis, DB, Columbia, SC, Otis Burns, lineman, Belton, SC and Jeff Scott, wide receiver from Seneca, SC. Scott is the son of Clemson assistant head coach Brad Scott.

The 20 scholarship freshmen who reported were Nick Black, Maryville, TN, Jermyn Chester, Titusville, FL, David Ellis, Bishopville, SC, Rodney Feaster, Chester, SC, Charles Harper, Quincy, FL, William Henry, Greenville, SC, Marcus Houskin, Douglasville, GA, J.J. Howard, Hanahan, SC, and Chad Jasmin, Vacherie, LA.

The list also includes Kevin Johnson, Orangeburg, SC, Marcus Lewis, Dunwoody, GA, Brian Mance, Manning, SC, DeJuan Polk, Wadesboro, NC, Bernard Rambert, Summerville, SC, Willie Simmons, Quincy, FL, Rodney Thomas, Dublin, GA, Khaleed Vaughn, Atlanta, GA, Greg Walker, Sumter, SC, Paul White, Jr, Irmo, SC, Kevin Youngblood, Jacksonville, FL.