Search Shop

Clemson First ACC School to Win Division Title in Football and Baseball

May 24, 2010

CLEMSON, SC – Clemson swept Florida State in baseball May 20-22 to capture the Atlantic Division title of the Atlantic Coast Conference. In doing so, Clemson became the first ACC school to win a division title in both football and baseball in the same academic year. The ACC went to a division format when it expanded to 12 teams in the 2005-06 academic year.

Clemson won the Atlantic Division football title this past fall with a 6-2 record, then posted an 18-12 mark in baseball this spring. Clemson enters the ACC baseball tournament this weekend with an overall record of 37-19 and has a #15 RPI.

There is one common denominator on the two Clemson teams. Kyle Parker was the starting quarterback in all 14 Clemson football games this past fall and he threw for 20 touchdown passes and 2526 yards, both Clemson freshman records. This spring, Parker has hit a team best 18 home runs and also leads the team in batting average (.373), slugging percentage (.725) and on-base percentage (.508).

Parker is the first Division I athlete in history to throw 20 touchdown passes and hit at least 18 home runs in the same academic year. He is also the first ACC athlete to play on an ACC division championship team in football and baseball in the same year.

ACC Football and Baseball Division Winners


Year Atlantic Coastal Atlantic Coastal
2005-06 Florida State Virginia Tech Clemson North Carolina
2006-07 Wake Forest Georgia Tech Florida State North Carolina
2007-08 Boston College Virginia Tech Florida State Miami (FL)
2008-09 Boston College Virginia Tech Florida State North Carolina
2009-10 Clemson Georgia Tech Clemson Virginia