Search Shop
Apr 28, 2021

Clemson Earns 8-Seed in NCAA Regional Selection

Clemson, S.C. – The Clemson women’s golf team was one of 18 teams selected for the Columbus-regional at the Ohio State University Golf Club – Scarlet Course in Columbus, Ohio. The 54-hole event will take place from May 10-12 with the top six teams from each regional site advancing to the NCAA Nationals set to be played at the Grayhawk Golf Club in Scottsdale, Ariz. from May 21-26.

“This has been a tough year,” said Head Coach Kelley Hester. “I think we all feel blessed and fortunate to know that we are going to be having an NCAA Regional this year and that we are going to be there competing. I think our team is a good 8-seed and believe they made a really good run this spring – we are looking forward to that regional in Columbus.”

With the Tigers earning the 8-seed it marks the sixth time in seven opportunities that the team has earned a regional selection. Last season’s regional and national tournaments were canceled due to COVID-19. In their last NCAA regional, played in the 2018-19 season at the Saugahatchee Country Club in Opelika, Ala., the Tigers finished 13th of 18 teams.

Regional play for the 2021 Division I Women’s Golf Championship will be held at the following regional sites:

Louisiana University Club | Baton Rouge, La. | Hosted by LSU

The Ohio State University Golf Club – Scarlet Course | Columbus, Ohio | Hosted by OSU

University of Louisville Golf Club | Simpsonville, Ky. | Hosted by Louisvillle

Stanford Golf Course | Stanford, Calif. | Hosted by Stanford

Clemson finished four of its six events this spring in fourth place and was led by junior Ivy Shepherd and sophomore Savannah Grewal. Those two enter the postseason with stroke averages of 72.78 and 73.50, respectively. 

Associate Head Coach Heather Bowie Young will look to bring prior experience to the regional field, having won the NCAA Individual Champion title on the same Ohio State University Golf Club back in 1997. She claimed the title as a member of the Texas Longhorns, firing a 285 total, while also garnering the highest collegiate recognition as the National Player of the Year that same season. 

Each of the four regional sites will include 18 teams and six individuals competing, with the top six teams (24 teams total) and the low three individuals (12 individuals total) not on an advancing team from each regional site advancing the national championships at Grayhawk.