Search Shop

Clemson Announces Permanent Captains for 2008

Dec. 3, 2008

Clemson, SC — Seniors Michael Hamlin, James Davis, Tyler Grisham, Cullen Harper and Jock McKissic have all been named permanent co-captains of the 2008 Clemson football team. The announcement was made after a team vote earlier this week.

It is the second consecutive year Hamlin and Harper have been named co-captains. They are the first two-time captains for the program since linebacker Chad Carson was named a co-captain in 2000 and 2001. All five players are seniors on this year’s team and had much to do with Clemson’s strong finish to the season.

Hamlin and McKissic were named co-captains of the defense, while Davis and Harper were named co-captains of the office. Grisham represented the special teams.

Hamlin ranked sixth in the nation in interceptions this year with six and is the team’s second leading tackler with 102 so far this year. McKissic played in all 12 games and had 14 tackles as a reserve defensive tackle.

Davis is Clemson’s leading rusher for the fourth consecutive year with 725 yards and 11 touchdowns. He needs 112 rushing yards in the bowl game to become Clemson’s career leader. Harper completed 63.2 percent of his passes for 2395 yards and 11 scores this year. He is second in the ACC in passing efficiency and second ranked in that category in Clemson history.

Grisham had 36 receptions for 366 yards on offense, but he also had seven tackles on special teams this year, helping Clemson lead the ACC in kickoff return coverage.