Search Shop
Clemson Announces Football Award Winners

Clemson Announces Football Award Winners

Jan. 23, 2002

Clemson, SC – Woodrow Dantzler and Chad Carson were named MVPs of the Clemson offense and defense respectively. The awards were announced by Clemson Head Coach Tommy Bowden.

Dantzler became the first player in college football history to pass for 2000 yards and rush for 1000 yards in the same season. The first-team All-ACC selection accounted for over 70 percent of Clemson’s total offense in 2001 and he finished his career with 53 school records, more than any other player.

Carson ranked 19th in the nation in tackles per game with a team best 137. He finished his career fifth in school history with 449. The three-time Academic All-American was a second-team All-ACC selection this past year. He had three different seasons with at least 130 tackles.

Derrick Hamilton and Eric Sampson were named the Rookies of the Year for the offense and defense, respectively. Hamilton set a freshman record with 53 receptions, third best in the nation among freshmen. The red-shirt also broke Terry Allen’s record for all-purpose running by a freshman. Sampson had 35 tackles as a first-year freshman, including 14 in the seven point win at Wake Forest when he came off the bench for an injured John Leake.

Three Tigers were also named Strength All-Americans, the most from one Clemson team since 1981. This year’s selections were Woodrow Dantzler, Kyle Young and T.J. Watkins.

*All Bio info dates prior to 2001 season

Offensive Awards

Solid Rock Awards:TE – Woodrow Dantzler

Hustle Award:

OL – Will Merritt

12th Man Award:

RB – Bernard Rambert

Iron Man Award:

OL – Kyle Young

Rookie Of The Year:

WR – Derrick Hamilton

Special Teams Player Of The Year:

K – Aaron Hunt

Scout Team Player Of The Year:

LB – Scott Wade

Tiger Pride Most Valuable Offensive Player:

QB – Woodrow Dantzler

Defensive Awards

Solid Rock Awards:LB – Chad Carson DE – Bryant McNeal DL – Jovon Bush DB – Charles Hafley

Hustle Award:

LB – John Leake

12th Man Award:

DL – Donnell Washington

Iron Man Award:

LB – Rodney Thomas

Rookie Of The Year:

LB – Eric Sampson

Special Teams Player Of The Year:

RB – Tore White

Scout Team Player Of The Year:

RB – Tye Hill

Tiger Pride Most Valuable Defensive Player:

LB – Chad Carson


LB – Chad CarsonQB – Woodrow DantzlerDB – Charles Hafley

Adademic Awards

Highest GPR Award:

OL – Kyle Young

Highest GPR (Frosh):

LB – Nigel Vaughn

Highest GPR (R-Frosh):

K – Rusty Curry

Highest GPR (Soph):

WR – Jeff Scott

Highest GPR (Junior):

WR – Tony Elliott

Highest GPR (Senior):

LB – Chad Carson

Vickery Hall Award (Frosh):

OL – Chip Myrick

Vickery Hall Award (R-Frosh):

DB – Ryan Hemby

Vickery Hall Award (Soph):

DL – Khaleed Vaughn

Vickery Hall Award (Junior):

LB – Rodney Feaster

Vickery Hall Award (Senior):

DL – Russell Stuermann

Most Improved Academic Award:

DB – Brian Carr

1st Team Academic All-American Award:

LB – Chad CarsonOL – Kyle Young

Weight Room Awards

Strength All-American:QB – Woodrow DantzlerOL – Kyle Young

Dedication Award:

LB – Chad CarsonOL – Kyle Young