Search Shop

Carmina Giraldo Named All-ACC

May 6, 1999

GREENSBORO, N.C. – Five Duke players head up the 14 member 1999 Atlantic Coast Conference Women’s Tennis Team, as selected by a vote of the league’s nine head coaches. Also among the honorees are three Wake Forest and Florida State players, and one from Maryland, Georgia Tech and Clemson.

Duke senior Vanessa Webb, who is the ACC’s highest nationally ranked player at No. 2, in the latest Intercollegiate Tennis Association (ITA) rankings, earns her second consecutive ACC Player of the Year honor. Webb, a native of Toronto, Canada, was the ACC regular season flight champion at No. 1 singles, sweeping through the league with an 8-0 record.

This year’s ACC Rookie of the Year is Wake Forest’s Janet Bergman who tallied a 7-1 ACC mark at No. 2 singles this season earning her the No. 2 singles flight champion honor.

Florida State’s Lise Gregory was named ACC Coach of the Year, her first such honor. Gregory, and the Seminoles finished third overall in the ACC with a 6-2 record. In this year’s ACC Championship, Gregory led Florida State to the semifinals before dropping to runner-up Wake Forest.

The 1999 All-Atlantic Coast Conference Women’s Tennis Team

    Kia Asberg         Florida State  Jr.  Lysekil, Sweden     Janet Bergman      Wake Forest    Fr.  Pinehurst, N.C.     Alida Gallovits    Florida State  Fr.  Timisoara, Romania     Carmina Giraldo    Clemson        Fr.  Columbia, South America     Karen Goldstein    Duke           Sr.  Guaymas, Sonora, Mexico     Meg Griffin        Maryland       Sr.  Topeka, Kansas     Maren Haus         Wake Forest    Fr.  Brielle, N.J.     Mason Miller       Georgia Tech   Fr.  Gainesville, Ga.     Megan Miller       Duke           So.  Palm City, Fla.     Marina Raic        Florida State  Fr.  Sriedrichshasen, Germany

Kristin Sanderson Duke Sr. Pinellas Park, Fla. Kathy Sell Duke So. Moorestown, N.J. Mariel Verban Wake Forest So. Bloomington, Ill. Vanessa Webb Duke Sr. Toronto, C6Z

ACC Player of the Year: Vanessa Webb Duke University ACC Rookie of the Year: Janet Bergman Wake Forest ACC Coach of the Year: Lise Gregory Florida State