Search Shop
May 24, 2021

Bridgeman Among Final 11 for Haskins Award

Clemson, SC—Clemson junior Jacob Bridgeman is one of 11 players remaining on the Watch List for the 2021 Fred Haskins Award presented by Stifel.  The award recognizes the most outstanding NCAA male Division I player in college golf.   The award is voted on by college players, coaches and college golf media from around the nation.

In addition to Bridgeman, the final watch list is made up of Ludvig Aberg of Texas Tech, Eugenio Chacarra of Oklahoma State,  Pierceson Coody of Texas, Alex Fitzpatrick of Wake Forest,  Nick Gabrelcik of North Florida,  Noah Goodwin of SMU, Ryan Hall of South Carolina, John Pak of Florida State, David Puig of Arizona State, and Davis Thompson of Georgia. 

Bridgeman leads the nation in scoring average at 69.46, a figure that would be a Clemson single-season record.  He is ranked eighth in the nation by Golfweek and 16th by Golfstat in the latest individual college rankings. He is also third in the nation in par four scoring (3.95) and 12th in par-three scoring (3.01).  The native of Inman, SC has 13 rounds in the 60s and 17 under-par rounds among his 24 rounds so far this year.  

Additionally, Bridgeman has six top 10 finishes among his eight tournaments, including two victories. Bridgeman won the Camp Creek Seminole in January with a 15-under-par 201 score, then won the Palmetto Intercollegiate in March with an 11-under-par 199.

Ten of the 11 players, including Bridgeman,  will be competing in the NCAA Division I Men’s Golf Championships, taking place May 28-June 2 at Grayhawk Golf Club in Scottsdale, Ariz.  

Voting for the 2021 Haskins Award is now open at and will close on Monday, May 31, one hour following the completion of stroke play at the NCAA Men’s Golf Championships. The final three finalists will be recognized by GOLF Channel on Tuesday, June 1 and the recipient will be announced at 4:30 p.m.

Past winners of the Haskins Award have captured 31 major championships and more than 400 professional tournament victories around the world. Past recipients include Tiger Woods, Phil Mickelson, Ben Crenshaw, and Justin Thomas. Pepperdine’s Sahith Theegala was the recipient of the 2020 Haskins Award.