Search Shop
Aug 20, 2021

Bornkamp Named to 2021 MAC Hermann Trophy Watch List

CLEMSON, S.C. – United Soccer Coaches and the Missouri Athletic Club (MAC) announced on Thursday that Megan Bornkamp was named to the 2021 MAC Hermann Trophy Watch List. The sophomore defender is one of 10 players representing the ACC on the 59-player list, which was composed by members of the United Soccer Coaches Women’s NCAA Division I All-America committee. This award is presented annually as collegiate soccer’s highest individual honor, recognizing the nation’s National Player of the Year. 

Bornkamp was named to the Preseason All-ACC Team this season. The Mooresville, N.C. native netted a team-high eight goals and recorded 17 points in her freshman campaign, while starting in all 19 of Clemson’s matches in the 2020-21 season. Four of her goals were game-winners, which was also a team-high. The defender received ACC All-Freshman and All-ACC Third Team honors following the season. In the Tigers’ season-opening win over Saint Francis on Thursday, Bornkamp slotted home a pair of goals in the first half, which was the third brace of her Clemson career.

Fifteen semifinalists for the Hermann Trophy will be named on November 30, following the fall season and the committee’s voting. The 2021 winner will be announced and presented to one of three finalists on Jan. 7, 2022 at the Missouri Athletic Club in St. Louis, Mo. 

For complete coverage of the Clemson women’s soccer team, follow @ClemsonWSoccer on Twitter, Instagram and Facebook.