Search Shop
Aug 25, 2023

Alex Meinhard Named to MAC Hermann Trophy Watch List

Clemson, S.C. – Senior forward Alex Meinhard has been named to the MAC Hermann Trophy Watch List, it was announced earlier this week by the United Soccer Coaches Association. This is the second-consecutive year Meinhard has earned the prestigious preseason honor.

Clemson’s soccer program is no stranger to the MAC Hermann Trophy, as Bruce Murray (1987), Wojtek Krakowiak (1998), and Robbie Robinson (2019) have all earned college soccer’s most coveted honor, while Oskar Ågren was a finalist for the 2021 award.

A native from Tartu, Estonia, Meinhard comes to Clemson after twice-earning American Athletic Conference Offensive Player of the Year honors at Tulsa. In his career with the Hurricanes, Meinhard was named to the NCAA Division I Men’s East Region first team, was tabbed to the Top Drawer Soccer Best IX first team and picked up first-team All-AAC honors.

Fifteen men’s players and 15 women’s players become Hermann Trophy semifinalists following completion of Division I All-America voting following the fall season. Meinhard is joined by Clemson women’s soccer’s Megan Bornkamp as Tigers named to preseason Hermann Trophy Watch Lists.