Search Shop
Jan 06, 2022

Ågren to Attend MAC Hermann Trophy Banquet as Finalist

CLEMSON, S.C. — Senior defender Oskar Ågren is traveling to St. Louis, Mo. for the MAC Hermann Trophy Banquet, where he will be honored as a finalist for the most prestigious individual award in college soccer, and the 2021 recipient will be announced. The banquet will begin at 7:30 p.m. EST and be live streamed at this link: STREAM

A Clemson player has garnered the award three times. Most recently, Robbie Robinson took home the trophy in 2019 following a spectacular season. He was drafted first overall in the MLS SuperDraft shortly after earning the MAC Hermann Trophy. He joined Wojtek Krakowiak (‘98) and Bruce Murray (‘87) as Tigers that have won the award. 

Ågren differs from those three in that he is the lone defender of the group. He starred at center back for the Tigers in their National Championship-winning season, leading them to a .802 goals against average and 10 team clean sheets. He also added five goals and two assists, excluding his two successful penalty conversions in the NCAA Tournament shootouts. Indiana’s Andrew Gutman is the most recent defender to win the award, earning the honor in 2018. 

Already heavily decorated, The native of Sweden is a Second Team United Soccer Coaches All-American, First Team Top Drawer Soccer Best XI, First Team College Soccer News All-American, First-Team All-South Region and No. 3 on Top Drawer Soccer’s Top-100 Players List.

Joining Ågren as finalists are Georgetown’s midfielder Dante Polvara and Washington’s forward Dylan Teves. Both of those teams were also participants in the NCAA College Cup. Washington defeated Georgetown 2-1 in the semifinal to advance to play Clemson in the National Championship. 

For all the most up-to-date information regarding Clemson men’s soccer, go to and follow @ClemsonMSoccer on Twitter and Instagram.