Search Shop
Adams Named Finalist For Defensive Player Of The Year

Adams Named Finalist For Defensive Player Of The Year

Nov. 22, 2000

CLEMSON, S.C. – Clemson linebacker Keith Adams has been named one of five finalists for Defensive Player of the Year according to The Football News. Adams is joined on the list by Jamal Reynolds (DE) of Florida State, Dan Morgan (LB) of Miami (FL), Fred Smoot (DB) of Mississippi State and J.T. Thatcher (DB) of Oklahoma.

The announcement of the winner will be made on Wednesday, December 6 and the recipient will be honored at a banquet on March 6, 2001 at the Fox Theatre in Detroit, MI. Last year’s winner was Corey Moore of Virginia Tech.

Speck Named Tatupu Special Teams Award Finalist

CLEMSON, S.C.–Clemson defensive back Chad Speck has been named one of five finalists for the 2000 Mosi Tatupu Special Teams Award. The winner will be announced at the 2001 Hula Bowl on the Island of Maui. The award is named after the former Southern California player who starred on special teams throughout his career.

Speck is tied for first in Clemson history in career special teams tackles with 45. He has 15 this year to key a Clemson special teams defensive unit that has allowed just 7.4 yards per punt return and 20.0 on kickoff returns this year.

The free safety has 30 tackles in his 11 games overall this season. He has been a key special teams player for the Tigers since 1997 when he became the first Tiger in history to return a blocked punt for a touchdown in a bowl game. He accomplished that against Auburn in the 1998 Peach Bowl.

Speck is an outstanding all-around student-athlete. He serves as the president of LIFELINE, Clemson’s football leadership organization, and he has a 3.84 career grade point average. He has never missed a game for the Tigers, playing 46 in a row over four years.

Speck is the fifth different Clemson player to be named a finalist or semifinalist for a national award. Earlier, Keith Adams was named a finalist for the Butkus Award. Robert Carswell was named one of 12 semifinalists for the Jim Thorpe Award and Rod Gardner was named one of 10 semifinalists for the Biletnikoff Award. Finally, quarterback Woodrow Dantzler was named one of eight semifinalists for the Davey O’Brien Award.