Search Shop
Nov 05, 2020

Aamir Simms Named to Karl Malone Watch List

SPRINGFIELD, Mass. — The Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame announced today the 20 watch list members for the 2021 Karl Malone Power Forward of the Year Award. Among the 20 candidates was Clemson University men’s basketball senior Aamir Simms (Palmyra, Va./Blue Ridge School).

A 6-8.5, 245-pound native of Palmyra, Va., Simms averaged 13.0 points and 7.2 rebounds per game last year, while leading the Tigers in points, rebounds, assists (78) and blocks (23). Simms put together an All-ACC season and garnered Third-Team All-ACC recognition.

He notched six 20-point games in 2019-20, while shooting a career-best 47.4 percent from the floor and a career-high 40.0 percent from 3-point range. Simms earned ACC Player of the Week for his performance at North Carolina, leading the Tigers with 20 points, eight rebounds, six assists, four blocks and three steals to help Clemson end its winless streak in Chapel Hill.

“The Basketball Hall of Fame is proud to annually acknowledge the best in the collegiate game with positional awards bearing the names of some of the greatest Hall of Famers of all time,” said John L. Doleva, President and CEO of the Basketball Hall of Fame. “To be named to the watchlist of the Naismith Starting Five is a great honor and I know our Hall of Famers sincerely enjoy the opportunity to watch these players compete. We thank Mr. Malone for his unwavering support over the years and the unique perspective he brings to ultimately selecting a winner.”

Named after Hall of Famer and two-time NBA Most Valuable Player Karl Malone, the annual honor in its seventh year recognizes the top power forwards in Division I men’s college basketball. A national committee comprised of top college basketball personnel determined the watch list of 20 candidates.

College basketball fans are encouraged to participate in Fan Voting presented by Dell Technologies in each of the three rounds. In late January, the watch list of 20 players for the 2021 Karl Malone Power Forward of the Year Award will be narrowed to just 10. In late February, five finalists will be presented to Malone and the Hall of Fame’s selection committee.

The winner of the 2021 Karl Malone Award will be presented on Friday, April 9, 2021, along with the other four members of the Men’s Starting Five. Additional awards presented include the Bob Cousy Point Guard Award, the Jerry West Shooting Guard Award, the Julius Erving Small Forward Award and the Kareem Abdul-Jabbar Center Award, in addition to the Women’s Starting Five.

Previous winners of the Karl Malone Power Forward of the Year Award include Obi Toppin, Dayton (2020), Zion Williamson, Duke (2019), Deandre Ayton, Arizona (2018), Johnathan Motley, Baylor (2017), Georges Niang, Iowa State (2016) and Montrezl Harrell, Louisville (2015).

2021 Karl Malone Power Forward of the Year Candidates

Mark Vital                                Baylor

Aamir Simms                          Clemson

Matthew Hurt                          Duke

Drew Timme                            Gonzaga

Trayce Jackson-Davis              Indiana

Isaiah Jackson                         Kentucky

Trendon Watford                     LSU

Tre Mitchell                             Massachusetts

Garrison Brooks                       North Carolina

Seth Towns                              Ohio State

Brady Manek                           Oklahoma

Hasahn French                        Saint Louis

Sandro Mamukelashvili           Seton Hall

Oscar da Silva                          Stanford

John Fulkerson                        Tennessee

Greg Brown                              Texas

Kevin Marfo                             Texas A&M

Jeremiah Robinson-Earl          Villanova

Oscar Tshiebwe                       West Virginia

Nate Reuvers                           Wisconsin