Search Shop
2005 Doak Walker Award Candidates Announced

2005 Doak Walker Award Candidates Announced

Sept. 1, 2005

DALLAS, TEXAS – The SMU Athletic Forum today announced the candidates for the 2005 Doak Walker Award, presented annually to the nation’s top college running back. The field of candidates includes Memphis senior DeAngelo Williams, the nation’s leading returning rusher (1948 yds.).

Other candidates include USC junior Reggie Bush, a semifinalist for the award in 2004; University of North Texas senior Patrick Cobbs and sophomore Jamario Thomas, who led the nation in rushing yards per game in 2003 and 2004, respectively; Michigan sophomore Mike Hart who led the Big Ten with 1,455 yards last season; and Oklahoma sophomore Adrian Peterson who led the Big 12 in rushing yards and was a finalist for the award in 2004.

The complete list of candidates, who were nominated by their universities, follows:

Joseph Addai (Sr.), LSUChris Barclay (Sr.), Wake ForestMike Bell (Sr.), ArizonaBrett Biggs (Sr.), AkronAhmad Bradshaw (So.), MarshallCornell Brockington (Jr.), ConnecticutCurtis Brown (Jr.), BYUThomas Brown (So.), GeorgiaMichael Bush (Jr.), LouisvilleReggie Bush (Jr.), USCPatrick Cobbs (Sr.), North TexasP.J. Daniels (Sr.), Georgia TechMaurice Drew (Jr.), UCLATyler Ebell (Sr.), UTEPAnthony Evans (Sr.), HoustonQuinton Ganther (Sr.), UtahLynell Hamilton (So.), San Diego StateMike Hart (So.), MichiganTaurean Henderson (Sr.), Texas TechStevie Hicks (Jr.), Iowa StatePeyton Hillis (So.), ArkansasCarlton Jones (Sr.), ArmyBrian Leonard (Sr.), RutgersCourtney Lewis (Jr.), Texas A&MRafael Little (So.), KentuckyWali Lundy (Sr.), VirginiaMarshawn Lynch (So.), UC BerkeleyLee Marks (Sr.), Boise StateReggie Merriweather (Jr.), ClemsonDonTrell Moore (Sr.), New MexicoTyrone Moss (Jr.), MiamiJerious Norwood (Sr.), Mississippi StateUril Parrish (Sr.), TulsaAdrian Peterson (So.), OklahomaP.J. Pope (Sr.), Bowling GreenDamien Rhodes (Sr.), SyracuseCory Ross (Sr.), NebraskaJamario Thomas (So.), North TexasPierre Thomas (Jr.), IllinoisLawrence Vickers (Sr.), ColoradoJerod Void (Sr.), PurdueDanny Ware (So.), GeorgiaLeon Washington (Sr.), Florida StateLenDale White (Jr.), USCTerrence Whitehead (Sr.), OregonDeAngelo Williams (Sr.), MemphisGarrett Wolfe (Jr.), Northern Illinois

The SMU Athletic Forum Board of Directors will select the semifinalists on Nov. 17, and the Doak Walker Award National Selection Committee will vote to determine the finalists on Nov. 18. The committee will cast a second vote on Nov. 28 to determine the recipient. The National Selection Committee consists of former NFL All-Pro and college All-America running backs, media members and selected special representatives.

The recipient of the 2005 Doak Walker Award will be announced live on ESPN along with other NCFAA member awards on The Home Depot College Football Awards on Thursday, Dec. 8. The Doak Walker Award Presentation Banquet will be held at The Wyndham Anatole Hotel in Dallas, Texas, on Monday, Feb. 27, 2006.Former Texas running back Cedric Benson, first-round draft pick of the Chicago Bears, won the 2004 Doak Walker Award.

The award, in its 16th year, is named for SMU’s three-time All-America running back Doak Walker. It is the only major collegiate award that requires all candidates to be in good academic standing and on schedule to graduate within one year of other students of the same classification.