Search Shop
Apr 14, 2018

1V4 Wins C Final to Cap off Clemson Invitational


CLEMSON, S.C. ­– After a morning of qualifying heats, the Clemson rowing team competed in one A Final, three B Finals and two C Finals to wrap up racing at the 2018 Clemson Invitational on Saturday evening on Lake Hartwell. The top Tiger finish came in the C Final of the 1V4 when Katie Herbolsheimer coxswained her crew to a first-place time of 7:17.64, a time that even topped one from the A Final.

The 1V8 boats got the morning started, and the Clemson boat coxswained by Emily Goff qualified for and finished sixth (6:34.97) in the C Final. The 2V8 boats were next, and a fourth-place heat time of 6:44.35 qualified Erin Murphy’s boat for the B Final, where the Tigers finished third behind Syracuse and Minnesota with a time of 6:11.26. The 3V8 boats concluded the morning session, and Julia Suplick’s crew’s fifth place time of 7:05.57 qualified them for the B Final, where they finished sixth (7:03.66).

Aside from Herbolsheimer’s crew, the Tigers competed two other boats in the fours on Saturday, both racing in heats of the 2V4. The Clemson 2V4A boat coxswained by Megan Kauffeld finished fifth (7:33.22) in their morning heat and qualified for the A Final, where they finished sixth (7:28.58). The final Clemson boat to see action in the Invitational was the 2V4B coxswained by Katie Holmes, and that boat placed seventh in both the qualifying heat and finals.

The rowing team returns to action on May 13 when Lake Hartwell plays host to the ACC Championships.

Coxswain: Julia Suplick; 8: Sophia Porach; 7: Camille Beck; 6: Bridget Kane; 5: Jessica Withycombe; 4: Maya Roberts; 3: Brooke Leech; 2: Samantha Nichols; 1: Caitlyn Raber

Coxswain: Megan Kauffeld; 4: Emily Ash; 3: Maura Chozick; 2: Kelsey Sox; 1: Hannah Maeser

Coxswain: Katie Holmes; 4: Kenzie Fisher; 3: Erin Belmar; 2: Mary Sales; 1: Juliette Gammel

Coxswain: Katie Herbolsheimer; 4: Catherine Schrieber; 3: Isabella Beckler; 2: Rebecca Pulsifer; 1: Rachel Mumau

Coxswain: Erin Murphy; 8: Emily Radziwon; 7: Elise Sum; 6: Sarah Decker; 5: Catherine Smith; 4: Rachel Salvia; 3: Taylor Knorr; 2: Katelyn Kerrick; 1: Rebecca Simonetti

Coxswain: Emily Goff; 8 Kaley Wojciechowski; 7 Aliute Udoka; 6 Amber Rewis; 5 Jenny D’Anthony; 4 Julia Meredith; 3 Amelia Shein; 2 Isla McRae; 1 Makenna Farr