Search Shop
#17 Clemson Blanks Demon Deacons 1-0 Saturday

#17 Clemson Blanks Demon Deacons 1-0 Saturday

Clemson, SC –

Matthew Crownover, Jonathan Meyer, Patrick Andrews, and Scott Firth combined to pitch a seven-hit shutout in #17 Clemson’s 1-0 victory over Wake Forest in front of 5,896 fans at Doug Kingsmore Stadium on Saturday night.  The Tigers, who took a 2-0 series lead, improved to 25-11 overall and 11-6 in the ACC.  The Demon Deacons dropped to 19-19 overall and 4-13 in ACC play.

The win was Clemson’s ninth in a row.  The streak began with a 5-4 victory in 11 innings at #1 North Carolina on April 1.  It is the Tigers’ longest winning streak since 2006, when that team had a 17-game winning streak from April 22 to May 25.

Crownover (5-0) tossed 5.1 innings to earn the win.  He allowed five hits, no runs, and three walks with four strikeouts.  Firth retired all six batters he faced with two strikeouts to record his second save of the season.  The four Tiger hurlers did not allow any of Wake Forest’s 11 baserunners to score.

Justin Van Grouw (3-5) suffered the loss despite not allowing an earned run.  In 6.2 innings pitched, he allowed five hits, one unearned run, and five walks with three strikeouts.

The Tigers plated the game’s only run in the fifth inning when Tyler Krieger grounded a two-out single up the middle to score Steven Duggar.  Duggar reached as the leadoff batter on an error by shortstop Pat Blair and advanced to third on back-to-back groundouts by Joe Costigan and Jon McGibbon.

In the sixth inning, Mark Rhine grounded a one-out single through the left side and Blair walked.  Two batters later, Brett Armour hit a two-out single through the left side to load the bases, but pinch-hitter Charlie Morgan grounded out to end the inning.  Rhine was the only Demon Deacon to advance past second base in the game.

Shane Kennedy and Krieger had two hits apiece to lead Clemson.

Rhine had a team-high two hits for the Demon Deacons, who outhit the Tigers 7-5.

Clemson and Wake Forest will play game-three of the three-game series on Sunday at 1:00 PM.