Search Shop
Volleyball To Honor 2007 Team At Banquet

Volleyball To Honor 2007 Team At Banquet

Feb. 7, 2008

CLEMSON, SC – Clemson volleyball will honor its 2007 ACC Championship team with a banquet on Tuesday, Feb. 26. ACC Coach-of-the-Year Jolene Jordan Hoover invites fans to help celebrate the Tigers’ record-setting season. To purchase a ticket, please contact Teri Townsend in the Clemson Athletic Department by phone at 864-656-1927 or by email at The deadline to reserve a seat is Wednesday, Feb. 20.

The banquet will be held in the President’s Box at Clemson’s Memorial Stadium.

The Tigers, ranked #22 in the final poll, claimed the conference title with a 21-1 record while posting a 29-4 overall ledger. The team earned a bid to the NCAA Tournament, its first since 1999, and advanced to the second round before falling to 12th-ranked UCLA.

Danielle Hepburn, Didem Ege, Meghan Steiner were named AVCA Honorable Mention All-Americans following AVCA All-Region accolades for each. Hepburn, Ege and Murphy were also selected to the All-ACC first team, while Steiner, Jeannette Abbott and Leslie Mansfield were second-team all-conference honorees.

Hepburn, a junior from Miami, FL, set a new standard for hitting percentage in a single season with a .395 figure, and her 139 block assists were her second top-five mark.

Sophomores Ege and Murphy also entered the Clemson record books. Ege’s 5.39 digs per game average broke the previous best mark of 5.04. With 615 on the year, the native of Istanbul, Turkey was also just five digs shy of the school record. Murphy’s 12.56 assists per game ranked third all-time, while her 1432 total assist for the season were listed in the top five as well.