Search Shop
Volleyball Team Honored At Annual Banquet

Volleyball Team Honored At Annual Banquet

Dec. 9, 2003

The 2003 Clemson volleyball team was honored at a banquet on Monday evening. The recipients of each of the following awards were chosen by team vote.

Junior Stephanie Haskell, from Simpsonville, SC, was chosen the team’s Most Valuable Player. The MVP award recognizes the student-athlete who by virtue of her athletic talents made the most visible impact on the team during the season. Selected by her teammates, this honoree’s contributions were deemed the most valuable in achieving the team’s goals. Haskell completed the season with 1,340 assists, averaging 11.26 assists per game. She also tallied 281 digs and posted 60 blocks (five solo) on the year.

Senior Lindsey Abbott, from Fort Walton Beach, FL, was honored with the 3.0 Passer Award, given annually to the player who earns the highest passing percentage during the entire season. The award is based on the accuracy of the serve receive pass only. Abbott was also chosen the Best Defensive Player, which is presented to the person who, in the eyes of the team, contributed significantly to the team’s success through her defensive skills.

Junior Leslie Finn, from San Diego, CA, earned the Best Offensive Player Award, which recognizes the student-athlete who made a significant contribution to the team’s success through her offensive play. Finn was named to the 2003 All-ACC team after leading the conference in kills per game with a 4.40 average. The outside hitter recorded 568 kills, placing her second in Clemson’s all-time season records.

Senior Laura Jensen, from Albany, CA, was the Tiger Spirit award recipient. This award recognizes the player who made a special contribution to the team throughout the season. Because of her achievements as a student and an athlete, this player symbolizes a standard of excellence to which all other athletes aspire. Always seeking to bring out the best in her teammates, the winner of this award unselfishly devotes herself to reaching the team’s goals and inspiring the team.

Senior Kiki Dallao, a native of Arlington, TX, was the recipient of the Dedication Award, which is designed to recognize the individual athlete who has, through dedication and commitment in the weight room, improved her performance on the court. The athlete chosen is not necessarily the strongest or most muscular athlete, but rather the one who works the hardest in the weight room, in order to make herself a better team player.

Freshman Liz Beckham, from Summerville, SC, was chosen the team’s Rookie-of-the-Year. The award recognizes the player who, in her first year of competition at Clemson, contributed the most to the success of the team. Selected by her teammates, this player is essential in every aspect of the game. Beckham was named to the ACC All-Freshman team after posting 373 kills and 353 digs on the season.

Senior Ryane Beasley, from Channahon, IL, was the inaugural recipient of the Coaches Award, which is voted on by the coaches. This award recognizes a player who gives her all to the team, is a total team player, a leader and good teammate. Beasley, a two-time captain, recorded 368 kills this season and led the Tigers at the net with 153 blocks (20 solo) and a 1.18 per game average.