Search Shop

Two Clemson Players are on the Men’s 2006 M.A.C. Hermann Trophy Watch List

Aug. 17, 2006

CLEMSON, SC–Two Clemson Men’s Soccer players are listed among the 25 players included in the 2006 Missouri Athletic Club’s Hermann Trophy Watch List for men’s intercollegiate soccer.

The two Clemson players include Dane Richards, a senior forward and Phil Marfuggi, a senior goalkeeper. Richards led the Tigers last season with 12 goals and eight assists for 32 points. He was named first-team All-ACC and was named to the NCAA’s All-Final Four team. Marfuggi was named first-team All-ACC and was named an All-American in 2005. He finished the year with a 0.84 GAA and had 89 saves. Clemson advanced to the Final Four last season and finished the year with a 15-6-3 record overall. Clemson is ranked tied for fifth in the preseason NSCAA poll released Tuesday.

The list, announced by the Missouri Athletic Club, was compiled by a panel of coaches from the National Soccer Coaches Association of America (NSCAA).

There are 13 seniors, nine juniors and three sophomores on this year’s list, and only three schools (Clemson, North Carolina and North Carolina-Greensboro) have two players on the list.

The winner of the M.A.C.’s Hermann Trophy will be determined in voting by NSCAA Division I member coaches. A list of 15 semifinalists will be announced in early November, with three finalists announced in late November. They will be invited to St. Louis on Saturday, Dec. 2, for the announcement of the winner at a press conference to be held in conjunction with the Men’s College Cup. Both the men’s and women’s winners will be presented the prestigious crystal soccer ball trophy at a banquet later that evening.

An exhibition featuring the current winners and past winners of the M.A.C. Hermann Trophy is on display at the National Soccer Museum in Oneonta, N.Y.

Men’s 2006 Missouri Athletic Club Hermann Trophy Watch List

Compiled by the National Soccer Coaches Association of America

Player, Position, Class, School, Hometown

Ryan Anderson, F, Jr., Missouri State, St. Charles, Mo.

Andrew Boyens, D, Sr., New Mexico, Dunedin, New Zealand

Byron Dacy, F, So., Creighton, Omaha, Neb.

Gregory Dalby, M, Sr., Notre Dame, Poway, Calif.

Charlie Davies, F, Jr., Boston College, Manchester, N.H.

John DiRaimondo, M, Sr., Saint Louis, St. Louis, Mo.

Willy Guadarrama, F, Jr., Campbell, Cedar Park, Texas

Tally Hall, K, Jr., San Diego State, Gig Harbor, Wash.

Michael Harrington, D, Sr., North Carolina, Greenville, N.C.

Rodrigo Hidalgo, F, Jr., South Florida, West Palm Beach, Fla.

Justin Hughes, K, Sr., North Carolina, Wake Forest, N.C.

Andy Iro, D, Jr., UC-Santa Barbara, Liverpool, England

Julius James, D, Jr., Connecticut, Maloney Gardens, Trinidad

Scott Jones, M, Sr., UNC-Greensboro, Dallas, Texas

Stephen King, M, Jr., Maryland, Medford, N.J.

Phil Marfuggi, K, Sr., Clemson, Manalapan, N.J.

Jay Needham, D, Sr., SMU, Fort Worth, Texas

Josh Tudela, M, Sr., Indiana, Evansville, Ind.

Simon Omekanda, F, Sr., Penn State, Rochester Hills, Mich.

Randi Patterson, F, Sr., UNC-Greensboro, Hackensack, N.J.

Yannick Reyering , F, So., Virginia, Mettingen, Germany

Dane Richards, F, Sr., Clemson, Montego Bay, Jamaica

Sinisa Ubiparipovic, F, Sr., Akron, Mentor, Ohio

Michael Videira, M, Jr., Duke, Milford, Mass.

Sal Zizzo, M, So., UCLA, San Diego, Calif.