Search Shop

Tigers Lead Qualifying For South Carolina Amateur Match Play

June 14, 2001

Myrtle Beach, SC – Jack Ferguson of Seneca carded a final qualifying round of two-under par, 70, to win medalist honors by one-stroke over Sammy Truett of Surfside Beach and Robert Godfrey of Clemson at the 29th South Carolina Amateur Match Play Championship of the Carolinas Golf Association hosted by Kings North at Myrtle Beach National on Thursday, June 14, 2001.

Tripp James, who will be the only senior on next year’s Clemson team, fired a 66 on Thursday and was tied for fourth. His 66 tied for the best round of the day.

Ferguson, a redshirt freshman at Clemson University, will be seeded number two for match play. Ferguson utilized this past year to improve his golf swing and work on his short-game. If the brackets hold true through the event, it could mean a possible match-up between Ferguson and Gregg Jones of Florence. They are teammates at Clemson University.

“It would be great to play Gregg”, stated Ferguson. “We played a lot of junior golf together. He won some events and I won some events (as juniors)but it is all different now”.

The cut fell at 155 with the low 31 scorers qualifying for the match play. Jonathan Tamburro of Greenville and Craig Morrow of Blythewood claimed the final two match play spots in a six-way play-off.

Defending champion, Gregg Jones of Florence, coming off winning the South Carolina Open championship, will be seeded number one and will face Craig Morrow of Blythewood in his first round match that will begin Friday morning at Myrtle Beach National.

Myrtle Beach, SC–Final round qualifying results of the 29th South Carolina Match Play Championship of the Carolinas Golf Association hosted by Kings North at Myrtle Beach National in Myrtle Beach, SC on Thursday, June 14, 2001.

Jack Ferguson, Seneca 69-70–139 Robert Godfrey, Clemson 70-70–140 Sammy Truett, Surfside Beach 72-68–140 Tripp James, Spartanburg 77-66–143 Brian Duncan, Greenville 77-66–143 Kyle Bradley, Charleston 75-69–144 Tucker Ervin, Mt. Pleasant 71-75–146 Todd White, Spartanburg 75-72–147 Joe Fairey III, St. Matthews 73-74–147 Brandon Hiott, Walterboro 73-75–148 Matt Sevigny, Columbia 74-75–149 Matt Dura, Sumter 75-75–150 Bill Duncan, Greenville 79-71–150 Todd Fields, Langley 77-73–150 Emmett Turner, Greenwood 76-74–150 Michael Wilson, Charleston 72-78–150 Daniel Felder, Orangeburg 73-78–151 Jamie Yonce, Hanahan 75-76–151 Brad Ricker, Easley 78-73–151 Scott Usher, Bennettsville 74-77–151 Ken Martin, Lexington 73-79–152 H.S. Russell, Charleston 75-77–152 Jon Stephenson, Columbia 75-77–152 Sam McCrorey, Rock Hill 77-76–153 David Dargan, Columbia 76-77–153 Van Burgess, Boiling Springs 75-78–153 Eddie Mirmow III, Lexington 74-80–154 Jake Thompson, Greenville 84-70–154 Wyman Whitesides, Florence 78-76–154 *Jonathan Tamburro, Greenville 76-79–155 *Craig Morrow, Blythewood 77-78–155

*won play-off for final match play spots

This championship is conducted by the Carolinas Golf Association.