Search Shop
Three Former Tigers Have Chance to Collect Super Bowl Rings

Three Former Tigers Have Chance to Collect Super Bowl Rings

Feb. 3, 2011

CLEMSON, SC – Three former Clemson Tigers will earn Super Bowl Championship Rings if the Pittsburgh Steelers can defeat the Green Bay Packers on Sunday at the Super Bowl in Dallas, TX. The former Tigers on the Steelers roster are defensive tackle Nick Eason, cornerback Crezdon Butler and wide receiver Tyler Grisham.

Eason was a member of the 2008 Pittsburgh Steelers Super Bowl Championship team and has a chance to become the eighth former Tiger to win more than one Super Bowl Championship Ring.

Eason, who is in his eighth year in the NFL, played in all 16 regular season games for the Steelers this year, including five as a starter. He had 16 tackles in the 16 games, including five against the Buffalo Bills. He had 1.5 sacks for the year. He is a veteran of 85 regular season games with Pittsburgh, Denver and Cleveland.

Butler has played in four games as a rookie with the Steelers in 2010. He has recorded one tackle as a cornerback and special teams player. Butler is a rookie who was a starter on Clemson’s Atlantic Division Championship team of 2009. Butler is trying to join Trevor Pryce (1997) and William Perry (1985), as the only former Tigers to win a Super Bowl Championship Ring in their rookie year.

Grisham has been on the Steelers Practice Squad all year. He played in four games last year and caught one pass.

Over the years, 22 former Tigers have combined to win 30 Super Bowl Championship rings. The list is led by Jeff Bostic, who won three rings between 1982 and 1991 with the Washington Redskins. Dwight Clark (49ers), Bennie Cunningham (Steelers), Terrence Flagler (49ers), Trevor Pryce (Broncos), Jim Stuckey (49ers) and Charlie Waters (Cowboys), all have multiple rings.

Clemson’s Super Bowl Champions (30 rings for 22 players)
Player Position Year(s) Team
Dan Benish DT 1987 Redskins
Jeff Bostic C 1982, 87, 91 Redskins
Dwight Clark WR 1981, 84 49ers
Bennie Cunningham TE 1978, 79 Steelers
Nick Eason DT 2008 Steelers
Terrence Flagler RB 1988, 89 49ers
Steve Fuller QB 1985 Bears
Chris Gardocki P 2005 Steelers
Andy Headen LB 1986 Giants
Tony Horne WR 1999 Rams
Terry Kinard FS 1986 Giants
Bill Mathis RB 1968 Jets
Dexter McCleon CB 1999 Rams
John McMakin TE 1974 Steelers
William Perry MG 1985 Bears
Trevor Pryce DT 1997, 98 Broncos
Wayne Simmons LB 1996 Packers
Archie Reese DT 1981 49ers
Jim Stuckey DT 1981, 84 49ers
James Trapp DB 2000 Ravens
Anthony Waters LB 2009 Saints
Charlie Waters S 1971, 77 Cowboys
Note: years reflect regular seasons