Search Shop
Oct 14, 2020

Stewart Named to Rimington Trophy Watch List

The Rimington Trophy Committee announced today that Clemson center Cade Stewart has been named to the watch list for this year’s Rimington Trophy. Additional information from award organizers is included below.

The Rimington Trophy Committee adjusted its procedures with consideration to the COVID-19 pandemic, choosing to hold its 2020 watch list until play began and a plan was implemented across all Division I conferences. This year, it accepted all nominations from eligible Division I programs with the goal of highlighting as many collegiate centers as possible and showing the outstanding commitment of the following students athletes.

The 2020 Fall Watch List (grouped by conference):

Cade Stewart, Clemson
Will Taylor, Duke
Mikey Minihan, Georgia Tech
Cole Bentley, Louisville
Corey Gaynor, Miami (FL)
Brian Anderson, North Carolina
Grant Gibson, North Carolina State
Jarrett Patterson, Notre Dame
Jimmy Morrissey, Pittsburgh
Carlos Vettorello, Syracuse
Olusegun Oluwatimi, Virginia
Brock Hoffman, Virginia Tech
Michael Jurgens, Wake Forest

Jakari Robinson, Cincinnati
Alan Ali, SMU
C.J. Perez, Temple
Sincere Amaru Haynesworth, Tulane
Gerard Wheeler, Tulsa
Brad Cecil, USF

Big 12
Colin Newell, Iowa State
Api Mane, Kansas
Noah Johnson, Kansas State
Creed Humphrey, Oklahoma
Ry Schneider, Oklahoma State
Esteban Avila, TCU
Derek Kertstetter, Texas
Dawson Deaton, Texas Tech

Big Ten
Doug Kramer, Illinois
Harry Crider, Indiana
Tyler Linderbaum, Iowa
Johnny Jordan, Maryland
Matt Allen, Michigan State
Cameron Jurgens, Nebraska
Josh Myers, Ohio State
Michal Menet, Penn State

Conference USA
Jaelin Fisher, Charlotte
Shane McGough, FIU
Nick Weber, Florida Atlantic
Kody Ray Russey, Louisiana Tech
Andrew Smith, Jr., UAB
Andrew Meyer, UTEP
Ahofitu Maka, UTSA
Seth Joest, WKU

Connor Bishop, Army
James Empey, BYU
Thomas Sargeant, Liberty
Dalton Tomlison, Massachusetts
Max Wilhite, New Mexico State

Mike Novitsky, Buffalo
Mike Van Hoeven, Eastern Michigan
Daniel Johnson, Kent State
Danny Godlevske, Miami
Brett Kitrell, Ohio
Bryce Harris, Toledo
Wesley French, Western Michigan

Mountain West
Cam Reddy, Colorado State
Matt Smith, Fresno State
Taaga Tuulima, Hawaii
Kyle Stapley, New Mexico
Kyle Hoppe, San Jose State
Keegan Cryder, Wyoming

Josh McCauley, Arizona
Michael Saffell, California
Colby Pursell, Colorado
Nous Keobounnam, Oregon State
Drew Dalman, Stanford
Brett Neilon, USC
Orlando Umana, Utah
Luke Wattenberg, Washington

Landon Dickerson, Alabama
Ricky Stromberg, Arkansas
Nick Brahms, Auburn
Brett Heggie, Florida
Trey Hill, Georgia
Drake Jackson, Kentucky
Liam Shanahan, LSU
Michael Maietti, Mizzou
Ben Brown, Ole Miss
Eric Douglas, South Carolina
Brandon Kennedy, Tennessee
Ryan McCollum, Texas A&M
Grant Miller, Vanderbilt

Sun Belt
Noah Hannon, Appalachian State
Jacob Still, Arkansas State
Sam Thompson, Coastal Carolina
Malik Sumter, Georgia State
Shane Vallot, Louisiana
Brian Ankerson, South Alabama
Reece Jordan, Texas State
Dylan Bradshaw, Troy

While more than a dozen All-America teams are selected annually, the Rimington Trophy
committee uses these three prestigious teams to determine a winner:
• Walter Camp Foundation (WCF)
• Sporting News (SN)
• Football Writers Association of America (FWAA)

Because the selectors of these three All-America teams can place centers in a “mix” of offensive linemen that includes guards and tackles, their 11-man first teams can often have two centers. The Rimington Trophy committee’s policy is to count all players that play primarily the center position for their respective teams as centers, even though they may be listed as guards or tackles on the All-America teams.

The center with the most first team votes will be determined the winner. If there is a tie with first team votes, then the center with the most second team votes will win. If there is still a tie, the winner will be determined by a majority vote from the Rimington Trophy committee. Because of COVID-19 and the ever-changing guidelines of in-person events, details of the annual presentation will be announced when confirmed.

* * *

About the Rimington Trophy
The Rimington Trophy is presented annually to the most outstanding center in NCAA Division I College Football. Since its inception, the seventeen-year old award has raised over $4.45 million for the Boomer Esiason Foundation, which is committed to finding a cure for cystic fibrosis.

Dave Rimington, the award’s namesake, was a consensus first-team All-America center at the University of Nebraska in 1981 and 1982, during which time he became the John Outland Trophy’s only two-time winner as the nation’s finest college interior lineman. For more on the Rimington Trophy and a list of past recipients, visit

The Rimington Trophy is a member of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA), which encompasses the most prestigious awards in college football. Founded in 1997, the NCFAA and its 25 awards now boast over 800 recipients, dating to 1935. Visit to learn more about the association.

About the Boomer Esiason Foundation
In 1993, Gunnar Esiason – son of former NFL MVP quarterback Boomer Esiason – was diagnosed with cystic fibrosis. Cystic fibrosis is an inherited chronic disease that affects the lungs, digestive system, and reproductive system of about 30,000 Americans by causing a thick build-up of mucus that leads to blockage, inflammation, and infection.

Boomer and his wife Cheryl founded the Boomer Esiason Foundation to raise funds and awareness for the cystic fibrosis community. The Foundation has raised over $150 million. Today, BEF offers scholarships, transplant grants, and other educational programs in an effort to assist CF patients and families in their daily lives. There have also been over 800 athletes who have competed in marathons, half marathons, and more to raise money and awareness for Team Boomer – the athletic division of the Foundation.