Search Shop
Stanley Midseason Candidate for Ben Hogan Award

Stanley Midseason Candidate for Ben Hogan Award

Feb. 26, 2009

Clemson, SC — Clemson junior All-American Kyle Stanley is one of 22 players on the midseason watch list for the 2009 Ben Hogan Award. The award, presented by Chesapeake Energy, recognizes the top amateur player in college golf.

Three finalists will be announced on May 7 and they will be invited to Colonial Country Club in Fort Worth, TX for the presentation on May 22. Stanley and Georgia Tech player Cameron Tringale are the only ACC players on the 22-player list.

Stanley is Clemson’s top player this year with a 71.42 stroke average. He won the Carpet Classic in the Fall and the Jones Cup in February. The Jones Cup is a national amateur event and amateur play is considered in the qualifications for this award. Stanley is currently ranked eighth in the Sagarin college rankings and third in the Golfweek World Rankings.

The only Clemson golfer to win the Ben Hogan Award is D.J. Trahan who captured the honor in 2002, his junior year.

Hogan Award Watch List Bronson Burgoon, Texas A&M Jorge Campillo, Indiana Bud Cauley, Alabama Sam Cyr, Point Loma Nazarene Rickie Fowler, Oklahoma State Dustin Garza, Wichita State Matthew Giles, Southern California Russell Henley, Georgia Billy Horschel, Florida Sihwan Kim, Stanford Trent Leon, Oklahoma State Jamie Lovemark, Southern California Adam Mitchell, Georgia Eddie Olson, UNLVKyle Stanley, Clemson Zack Sucher, UAB Hudson Swafford, Georgia Matthew Swan, Alabama Nick Taylor, Washington Jarin Todd, Sonoma State Cameron Tringale, Georgia Tech Mike Van Sickle, Marquette