Search Shop

Parade Of Athletes To Take Place Saturday

Sept. 1, 2000

CLEMSON, S.C. – On Saturday, September 2, the Clemson Athletic Department will recognize all athletic teams at The Citadel-Clemson football game in a “Parade of Athletes”.

The parade, similar to the to the Olympic Games parade will take place during the pre-game ceremonies. The athletes will begin the march at the Northwest corner of the stadium, circling the field, and will complete the parade on the Clemson team sideline.

The “Parade of Athletes” introduces Tiger fans to the 2000-01 Clemson athletic teams. Teams will carry a banner identifying their respective squads and student-athletes will wear orange t-shirts so young Clemson fans can recognize their favorite players.

Additionally, special awards for the 1999-00 academic year and most valuable player awards and most improved awards in spring sports will also be presented. Below are the award winners who are scheduled to be in attendance on Saturday.

IPTAY Scholastic Athlete – Jonathan Byrd Frank Howard Award – Shawn Crawford Edwards Sportsmanship – Brandon Streeter

Most Valuable & Most Improved Baseball – Khalil Greene & Ryan Mottl Golf – Lucas Glover & Jani Saari Rowing – Lisa Mischley & Lucy Doolittle Swimming – Ginny Kirouac -Academic All-American Men’s Outdoor Track & Field – Shawn Crawford & Todd Matthews Women’s Outdoor Track & Field – LaShonda Cutchin & Sheri Smith Men’s Tennis – Josh Goffi & Marko Gojanovic Women Tennis – Carmina Giraldo & Laurence Jayet

ACC Golf Rookie of the Year – D.J. Trahan ACC Track Coach of the Year – Bob Pollock