Search Shop
Pairings, Game Times Set For 2010 ACC Baseball Championship

Pairings, Game Times Set For 2010 ACC Baseball Championship

May 23, 2010

ACC Championship Bracket

GREENSBORO, N.C. – Complete pairings and starting times have been announced for the 2010 Atlantic Coast Conference Baseball Championship, which will be held Wednesday through next Sunday (May 26-30) at Greensboro’s NewBridge Bank Park.

As the No. 1 overall seed, Virginia (23-7 ACC) will be placed atop Division A and will be joined by No. 4 Miami (20-10), No. 5 Florida State (18-12) and No. 8 Boston College (14-16).

Clemson (18-12) is the No. 2 seed and will be joined in Division B by No. 3 Georgia Tech (21-9), No. 6 Virginia Tech (16-14) and No. 7 NC State (15-15).

Under the pool-play format, each team will play one game against each of the other three opponents in its division Wednesday-Saturday. The two teams with the best records within their respective division brackets will advance to the title game on Sunday, with the winner earning the ACC’s automatic berth into the NCAA Tournament.

First day matchups on Wednesday find top-seeded Virginia facing eighth-seeded Boston College at noon, followed by fourth-seeded Miami and fifth-seeded Florida State at 4 p.m. The final game of the night places No. 2 Clemson against No. 7 NC State.

Third-seeded Georgia Tech and sixth-seeded Virginia Tech see their first action of the tournament on Thursday, when they meet in the 8 p.m. finale. That game will be preceded by a noon contest between Miamiand Boston College, followed by Virginia vs. Florida State at 4 p.m.

Play continues on Friday with a noon game between Florida State and Boston College. Clemson and Virginia Tech will meet at 4 p.m., with Georgia Tech vs. NC State wrapping up the day’s action at 8 p.m.

Saturday’s three game slate begins with Virginia facing Miami at noon. Clemson and Georgia Tech will face off at 4 p.m., followed by Virginia Tech facing NC State in the 8 p.m. nightcap.

Sunday’s title game between the division pool-play winners is set for 1 p.m.

In addition to being this year’s top-seeded team, Virginia is the defending tournament champion, having won the 2009 title at Durham, N.C., as the No. 6 seed.

Fans can still purchase tickets to next week’s competition. Complete books to all 13 games are available, as well as individual game tickets. Online ticket information can be found at

All 13 games of this year’s ACC Baseball Championship will be televised for the fourth straight year via RSN, a regional network that covers the entire conference footprint. Please check for local affiliates and stations.

In addition, ISP Sports will again be the national radio carrier of this year’s league tournament via XM radio and ISP’s national network of affiliates. Live stats will also be available at the ACC Baseball Championship site.

Please see the attached bracket or the listing below for the complete 2010 ACC Championship Schedule.

2010 ACC BASEBALL CHAMPIONSHIP Wednesday (May 26) – Sunday (May 30) NewBridge Bank Park Greensboro, NC

Wednesday’s games Noon – No. 1 Virginia (45-10, 23-7) vs. No. 8 Boston College (29-26, 14-16) 4 pm – No. 4 Miami (39-15, 20-10) vs. No. 5 Florida State (39-16, 18-12) 8 pm – No. 2 Clemson (37-19, 18-12) vs. No. 7 NC State (36-20, 15-15)

Thursday’s games Noon – Miami vs. Boston College 4 pm – Virginia vs. Florida State 8 pm – No. 3 Georgia Tech (44-11, 21-9) vs. No. 6 Virginia Tech (36-19, 16-14)

Friday’s games Noon – Florida State vs. Boston College 4 pm – Clemson vs. Virginia Tech 8 pm – Georgia Tech vs. NC State

Saturday’s games Noon – Virginia vs. Miami 4 pm – Clemson vs. Georgia Tech 8 pm – Virginia Tech vs. NC State

Sunday’s game 1 pm – Championship

2010 ACC BASEBALL CHAMPIONSHIP SEEDINGS DIVISION A – No. 1 Virginia, No. 4 Miami, No. 5 Florida State, No. 8 Boston College DIVISION B – No. 2 Clemson, No. 3 Georgia Tech, No. 6 Virginia Tech, No. 7 NC State Round-robin pool play will be held May 26-29 (game times Noon, 4 p.m. and 8 p.m. each day). The winner of each division will then advance to meet in the championship game on Sunday, May 30, at 1 p.m.