Search Shop
Diving Opens Season at USC

Diving Opens Season at USC

COLUMBIA, S.C. – The Clemson diving team competed in both the one and three-meter events against the Gamecocks of South Carolina on Saturday in Columbia, S.C. In their first competitive meet of the season, three Tigers were able to earn qualifying scores for the NCAA Zone B Championships in postseason action in Atlanta, Ga. The overall team score in the meet, however, reflected a 30-8 Clemson loss.

NCAA Zone B qualifying standards/scores:

1-Meter Diving – 265 points

3-Meter Diving – 280 points

Platform Diving – 225 points

Sarah Braun and Megan Helwagen led Clemson in garnering fourth and fifth-place finishes in the one-meter event, recording NCAA Zone qualifying scores of 280.88 and 278.55, respectively. Danielle Reitsma recorded a 251.78 to finish eighth overall, heading up a string of six consecutive place-finishes for the Tigers in the event.

In the three-meter event later in the day, Reitsma recorded a 301.58 to finish third overall, leading the Tigers in the event. The score also qualified for NCAA Zones, making Reitsma the third diver to post a qualifying mark, in the first meet of the season, for Clemson. Helwagen followed Reitsma by tallying a 276.15, good for a fourth-place finish, and was the only diver for the Tigers to place in the top five in both events.

Clemson will be back in competitive waters when it travels to Greensboro, N.C. on Saturday Nov. 7 to face East Carolina & Richmond in dual meet action at 11 a.m.

Clemson Results at South Carolina

October 24, 2015


4. Sarah Braun – 280.88*

5. Megan Helwagen – 278.55*

8. Danielle Reitsma – 251.78

9. Jaya Brown – 245.25

10. Caylin Hirapara – 235.05

11. Hannah Donovan – 225.60

12. Allison Brophy – 223.88

13. Erin Lee – 222.53

15. Sarah Blank – 206.18

16. Megan Jendra – 161.02


3. Danielle Reitsma – 301.58*

4. Megan Helwagen – 276.15

8. Jaya Brown – 264.23

9. Sarah Braun – 249.08

10. Hannah Donovan – 248.03

11. Sarah Blank – 247.65

13. Caylin Hirapara – 228.60

14. Morgan Fiske – 205.95

*NCAA Zone B Championship qualifying score