Search Shop
Divers Set to Compete at NCAA Zone B Championships

Divers Set to Compete at NCAA Zone B Championships

CLEMSON, SC – Six Tiger divers will travel to Greensboro, NC for the NCAA Zone B Championships beginning on Monday at the Greensboro Aquatics Center.

Clemson will be the host institution for three-day meet, in which divers will compete to earn a spot for the NCAA Diving Championships. 

Clemson will be represented by senior Emily Howard, junior Chelsea Uranaka, sophomores Megan Helwagen and Jessica Resler, and freshmen Sarah Braun and Danielle Reitsma. Sophomore Juliana Melchionda also qualified for NCAA Zones but will not compete at the event due to academic obligations.

Howard led the Tigers in competition points this season (122) as well as setting both the one-meter (295.40) and three-meter (312.30) school record. Uranaka recorded the second highest three-meter score of the year while Reitsma went on to set the school-record platform score.

Three of the six divers will return to NCAA Zones for the second straight year. Howard competed in all three events last season recording a 214.25 in the one-meter, 225.95 in the three-meter, and a 191.10 in the platform. Helwagen also competed in all three events recording marks of 228.15, 228.45 and 205.25, respectively.

Uranaka competed in the one-meter diving last season recording a score of 220.15 to finished 29th. Melchionda also competed at zones last season scoring a 198.65 in the one-meter and a 186.55 in the three-meter.

In their last outing as a team, Clemson finished sixth at the ACC Championships that were also held in Greensboro, NC. Reitsma was the highest Clemson finisher at the meet with a 10th-place finish in the platform event. The team finished the season 10-1-1 in dual meets with a 7-0 home mark.

The Tigers will begin competition with the one-meter event on Monday followed by the three-meter diving on Tuesday. The meet will conclude with the platform diving on Wednesday. Action will begin at 11:00 AM each day.

Live results will be available for all three days of competition on