Dantzler Named Semifinalist for Davey O’Brien Award

Dantzler Named Semifinalist for Davey O’Brien Award

Nov. 6, 2001

Fort Worth, TX – Clemson quarterback Woodrow Dantzler has been named one of 12 semifinalists for the 2001 Davey O’Brien Award. The Award, which is chosen by national sportswriters and commentators, goes to the best quarterback in college football. Three finalists will be announced Tuesday, November 27 by the National College Football Awards Association. It is the second straight year that Dantzler has been named a semifinalist for the award.

The winner will be announced at the Home Depot College Football Awards Show on Thursday, December 6 at 9:00 PM in Orlando, FL. The winner and the two other finalists will be honored at the 25th annual Davey O’Brien Awards Dinner Feb. 18, 2002 in Fort Worth Texas.

Dantzler has been one of the top all-around quarterbacks in college football the last three years. This year he has 737 yards rushing and 1760 passing. He is on pace to become the first quarterback in college football history to reach 2000 yards passing and 1000 rushing in the same season. He has completed 150-240 passes for 1760 yards and 11 touchdowns. He has rushed for 737 yards in 156 carries and has scored nine touchdowns.

Dantzler has had at least 300 yards total offense in five of the last six games, including a school record 517 yards at NC State on October 13th. He also had six touchdowns in that game, four passing and two rushing, tying the ACC record for touchdown responsibility in a game.

Dantzler, a graduate student from Orangeburg, SC, ranks in the top 36 in the nation in five different categories. He is sixth in the nation in total offense with an average of 312 yards per game. On the ACC level, he is fourth in the ACC in rushing and third in passing efficiency.

Last week, Dantzler was named one of 10 “leading candidates” for the Walter Camp Award. That honor is presented to he top player in college football.

Davey O’Brien Award Semifinalists
Player School Class
David Carr Fresno State Sr.
Eric Crouch Nebraska Sr.
Woodrow Dantzler Clemson Gr.
Brandon Doman Brigham Young Sr.
Ken Dorsey Miami (FL) Jr.
Jason Gesser Washington St. Jr.
Rex Grossman Florida So.
Joey Harrington Oregon Sr.
Eli Manning Mississippi So.
Kliff Kingsbury Texas Tech Jr.
Kurt Kittner Illinois Sr.
Chris Simms Texas Jr.