Search Shop
Clemson Lady Tiger Basketball Team Honored at Annual Banquet

Clemson Lady Tiger Basketball Team Honored at Annual Banquet

April 18, 2003

Season Video Highlgihts

CLEMSON, SC — The 2002-03 Clemson Lady Tiger basketball team was honored at a banquet at the Madren Center Thursday evening, April 17, 2003. The recipients of each of the following awards were chosen by the coaches.

The Leading Rebounder Award went to freshman Amanda White. The Fountain Inn, SC, native led the team in rebounding, recording 176 total rebounds and averaging 6.1 rebounds per game. White finished tenth in the Atlantic Coast Conference in rebounding. She is the first Lady Tiger since 1980 to win the Leading Rebounder Award as a freshman.

The Gene Beard Hustle Award went to junior Maggie Slosser. Slosser, from Poland, OH, played the majority of the season injured but still averaged 5.5 points per game and 3.4 rebounds per game.

Junior Julie Aderhold received the Best Field Goal Percentage Award. The Etowah, TN native, who missed 10 games with a heard condition, still shot 42.3 percent from the field (55-130). Aderhold was 26 of 69 from behind the three-point line, for a .377 percentage.

The Best Defensive Player Award went to senior Chrissy Floyd. Floyd, from Laurens, SC, won the award for the second straight year. She led the team in steals (49), averaging 1.69 steals per game. Floyd also finished sixth on Clemson’s career steals list, recording 211 steals in her four years as a Lady Tiger.

Freshman Amanda White also won the Best Free Throw Percentage Award. White shot 75 percent (78-104) from the free throw line, good enough for sixth place in the ACC.

The Playmaker Award went to junior Kanetra Queen. The Fayetteville, NC, native led the Lady Tigers in assists and posted a 1.59 assist-turnover ratio. Her 97 assists placed her eighth in the ACC. Queen also won the Annie Tribble Leadership Award, given to the player who demonstrates superior leadership qualities.

The Bill Nix Coaches’ Award, given to the most coachable athlete, went to freshman Amanda White. White started 28 of 29 games and averaged 28.2 minutes per game.

For the second straight year, Kanetra Queen was the recipient of the Academic Achievement Award, an award based upon academic success. Queen will graduate in May 2004 with a degree in Speech and Communication Studies.

The Best Offensive Player Award went to Chrissy Floyd for the fourth straight year. Floyd is only the second Lady Tiger to ever lead Clemson in scoring four years in a row. She also finished second on Clemson’s career scoring list, posting 1937 points.

The Most Improved Player Award went to senior Tabitha Vasilas. The Belton, SC, native showed the most improvement from the end of the 2001-02 season to the end of the 2002-03 season. Vasilas was nstant offensefor the Lady Tigers this season, with her most impressive performance coming against North Carolina, when she scored 13 to lead the Lady Tigers.

Senior Chrissy Floyd was named the Most Valuable Player for the 2002-03 season. Floyd, who started all 29 games for the Lady Tigers, was named first-team All-ACC for the second straight season. She was named All-ACC all four years as a Lady Tiger. Floyd was also named to the District II Kodak All-America Team for the second straight year and to the ACC’s 50th Anniversary Team.

Senior Leah Roper, a native of Atlanta, GA, received the Aim High Award, given by the Clemson Air Force ROTC to the Clemson athlete who best represents integrity, determination and selflessness. Roper won this award for the second straight year, a feat no other Clemson athlete has accomplished. Inscribed on the award’s nameplate is o One Comes Close,noting the significance of the award.

The following is a list of all awards presented at the banquet and their recipients:

Leading Rebounder Award Amanda White Gene Beard Hustle Award Maggie Slosser Best Field Goal Percentage Award Julie Aderhold Best Defensive Player Award Chrissy Floyd Best Free Throw Percentage Award Amanda White Playmaker Award Kanetra Queen Annie Tribble Leadership Award Kanetra Queen Bill Nix Coaches’ Award Amanda White Academic Achievement Award Kanetra Queen Best Offensive Player Award Chrissy Floyd Most Improved Player Award Tabitha Vasilas Most Valuable Player Award Chrissy Floyd Aim High Award Leah Roper