Search Shop
Clemson Defeats Georgia State 5-2

Clemson Defeats Georgia State 5-2

Feb. 21, 2010

CLEMSON, SC – Clemson won its eighth match of the year with a 5-2 win over Georgia State in a men’s intercollegiate tennis match at Clemson, SC Sunday evening.

With the win, Clemson improves to 8-0 on the year. The Tigers are ranked 64th nationally according to the latest ITA poll. Clemson defeated The Citadel 6-1 earlier today. Georgia State falls to 7-3 this season.

Clemson won the doubles point to start the match. At number one doubles, the Tigers’ Derek DiFazio and Rok Bizjak won over Calvin Kemp and Trenton Spinks of Georgia State 8-6.

DiFazio also won at number one singles as he defeated the Panthers’ Calvin Kemp 6-3, 6-3.

Carlos Alvarez of Clemson remained undefeated in dual match play as he defeated Jackson Moore of Georgia State 6-0, 6-1. Alvarez is now 5-0 in dual match play this season and has a 8-4 record overall in singles play.

“First of all I want to thank my assistant coaches John Boetsch and Anthony Lee for all of their hard work, help and insight,” said Clemson Head Coach Chuck McCuen. “We owe these two young men a lot of credit for our success this season. It was a challenging day. We played two quality opponents. Derek DiFazio regained a lot of his confidence today. I thought Wesley Moran played well today and stepped up to the challenge. Carlos Alvarez also had an exceptional day.”

Clemson will play Southern Mississippi at 9:00 a.m. and Navy at 3:00 p.m. at the Hoke Sloan Tennis Center on Saturday, February 27, in the Tigers’ next action.

Clemson 5, Georgia State 2

Doubles 1. Derek DiFazio/Rok Bizjak (CU) d. Calvin Kemp/Trenton Spinks (GS) 8-6 2. Juan Pablo Gutierrez/Jackson Moore (GS) d. Carlos Alvarez/Juan Bolona (CU) 8-5 3. Kevin Galloway/Wesley Moran (CU) d. Henri Mangin/Victor Valente (GS) 8-4

Singles 1. Derek DiFazio (CU) d. Calvin Kemp (GS) 6-3, 6-3 2. Victor Valente (GS) d. Rok Bizjak (CU) 5-7, 7-5, 1-0 (10-4) 3. Carlos Alvarez (CU) d. Jackson Moore (GS) 6-0, 6-1 4. Kevin Galloway (CU) d. Lucas Santana (GS) 6-1, 6-2 5. Henri Mangin (GS) d. Zachary Rigsby (CU) 7-6, 3-6, 1-0 (10-6) 6. Wesley Moran (CU) d. Juan Pablo Gutierrez (GS) 6-3, 6-4