Search Shop
Jul 23, 2019

Clemson Places 13 On All-ACC Preseason Football Team

GREENSBORO, N.C. (release via  – The preseason accolades continue to roll in for defending national champion Clemson.

The Tigers placed 13 players on the 27-member 2019 All-Atlantic Coast Conference Preseason Football Team announced Tuesday, including preseason Player of the Year and quarterback Trevor Lawrence, running back Travis Etienne, four offensive linemen and a pair of wide receivers.

Preseason honors were determined by a vote of 173 media members credentialed for last week’s ACC Kickoff in Charlotte, North Carolina.

Lawrence started the final 11 games in 2018 as a true freshman, helping Clemson become the first college football team in the modern era to go 15-0. The Cartersville, Georgia, standout became the first true freshman since 1985 to lead his team to the national title as he completed 259 of 397 passes for 3,280 yards with 30 touchdowns and just four interceptions. The Tigers won each of their final 10 games by 20 points or more.

Lawrence received 127 votes in this year’s ACC Preseason Player of the Year balloting. Etienne – who earned 2018 ACC Player of the Year honors while rushing for 1,658 yards and scoring a league-record tying 26 touchdowns – placed second with 24 votes. Boston College running back AJ Dillon (15 votes), Virginia quarterback Bryce Perkins (6) and Florida State running back Cam Akers (1) rounded out the balloting.

Lawrence received 161 votes at the quarterback position to lead all players in the Preseason All-ACC Team balloting. Tiger teammates Tee Higgins (145 votes at wide receiver), Etienne (144 at running back) and John Simpson (136 at offensive guard) also placed among the overall vote leaders, as did Boston College’s Dillon (144). Dillon rushed for 1,108 yards last season and led the ACC in yards per game (110.8).

Syracuse’s four selections include safety Andre Cisco, defensive end Alton Robinson, punter Sterling Hofrichter and placekicker Andre Szmyt. A 2018 unanimous All-American, Szmyt led the FBS in most kicking categories last season, including connecting on an ACC-record 30 field goals.

With 122 votes at the cornerback position, Virginia’s Bryce Hall was the top vote-getter among defensive players.

Miami placed three players on this year’s Preseason All-ACC team, followed by Boston College and Florida State with two each. Duke, Pitt and Virginia each had one player voted to the squad.

Lawrence, Etienne, Higgins and Simpson are joined on the Preseason All-ACC offensive team by four Clemson teammates – wide receiver Justyn Ross, tackle Tremayne Anchrum, guard Gage Cervenka and center Sean Pollard. Tackle Ben Petrula joins Dillon in representing Boston College.

Florida State wide receiver Tamorrion Terry, Miami tight end Brevin Jordan and Duke all-purpose player Deon Jackson round out the offense. Skilled Pitt return man Maurice Ffrench was chosen at the specialist position.

The defensive end slots include Xavier Thomas of Clemson and Robinson of Syracuse. Florida State’s Marvin Wilson and Clemson’s Nyles Pinckney were selected at the tackle positions.

Miami placed two players among the linebacker corps, where Shaquille Quarterman and Michael Pinckney are joined by Clemson’s Isaiah Simmons. Virginia’s Hall is joined in the defensive backfield by Clemson cornerback A.J. Terrell and safeties Tanner Muse of Clemson and Cisco of Syracuse.

2019 All-ACC Preseason Football Team
(Total votes in parenthesis)

WR – Tee Higgins, Clemson (145)
WR – Justyn Ross, Clemson (123)
WR – Tamorrion Terry, Florida State (69)
TE – Brevin Jordan, Miami (66)
AP – Deon Jackson, Duke (47)
OT – Tremayne Anchrum, Clemson (100)
OT – Ben Petrula, Boston College (54)
OG – John Simpson, Clemson (136)
OG – Gage Cervenka, Clemson (45)
C – Sean Pollard, Clemson (75)
QB – Trevor Lawrence, Clemson (161)
RB – Travis Etienne, Clemson (144)
RB – AJ Dillon, Boston College (144)

DE – Xavier Thomas, Clemson (84)
DE – Alton Robinson, Syracuse (83)
DT – Marvin Wilson, Florida State (105)
DT – Nyles Pinckney, Clemson (49)
LB – Shaquille Quarterman, Miami (118)
LB – Isaiah Simmons, Clemson (109)
LB – Michael Pinckney, Miami (66)
CB – Bryce Hall, Virginia (122)
CB – A.J. Terrell, Clemson (62)
S – Andre Cisco, Syracuse (80)
S – Tanner Muse, Clemson (78)

Special Teams
PK – Andre Szmyt, Syracuse (88)
P – Sterling Hofrichter, Syracuse (70)
SP – Maurice Ffrench, Pitt (48)

ACC Player of the Year
1. Trevor Lawrence, QB, Clemson – 127
2. Travis Etienne, RB, Clemson – 24
3. AJ Dillon, RB, Boston College – 15
4. Bryce Perkins, QB, Virginia – 6
5. Cam Akers, RB, Florida State – 1