Search Shop
Boulware and Tankersley Advance on Award Lists

Boulware and Tankersley Advance on Award Lists

Clemson, S.C.—Clemson cornerback Cordrea Tankersley has been named one of 16 semifinalists for the 2016 Jim Thorpe Award and linebacker Ben Boulware has been named one of 19 quarterfinalists for the Lott IMPACT Trophy.  Both organizations made announcements on Monday.

The Thorpe Award is presented to the top defensive back in the nation by the Oklahoma Sports Hall of Fame, and the Lott IMPACT Trophy is presented by the Pacific Club IMPACT Foundation and goes to the best college defensive player who makes an impact on his team both on and off the field.

Joining Tankersley  as Thorpe Award semifinalists are Jaire Alexander of Louisville, Budda Baker of Washington, Travon Blanchard of Baylor, Justin Evans of Texas A&M, Minkah Fitzpatrick of Alabama, Malik Hooker of Ohio State, 2015 Thorpe winner Desmond King of Iowa, Adoree Jackson of Southern California,  Jourdan Lewis of Michigan, Kai Nacua of BYU, Jabrill Peppers of Michigan, Weston Steelhammer of Air Force, Tre’Davious White of LSU, Xavier Woods of Louisiana Tech and Andrew Wingard of Wyoming.

Three Thorpe Award finalists will be named on Nov. 21 and the winner will be announced at the live Home Depot College Football Awards Show on Dec. 8 on ESPN. The winner of the 2016 Thorpe Award will be honored at a banquet in Oklahoma City on Feb. 7, 2017.

Joining Boulware on the quarterfinal list for the Lott IMPACT Trophy are Jamal Adams, S, LSU; Jonathan Allen, DE, Alabama; Budda Baker, S, Washington; Jack Cichy, LB, Wisconsin; Jarrad Davis, LB, Florida; Myles Garrett, DE, Texas A&M; Adoree Jackson, CB, of Southern California; Eddie Jackson, S, Alabama; Joshua Kalu, CB, Nebraska; Andrew King, LB, Army; Desmond King, CB, Iowa; Micah Kiser, LB, Virginia; Raekwon McMillan, LB, Ohio State; Calvin Munson, LB, San Diego State; Jabrill Peppers, LB, Michigan; Weston Steelhammer, S, Air Force; T.J. Watt, LB, Wisconsin; and A.J. Wolf, DE, Duke.

Lott Trophy semifinalists will be announced Nov. 9 and four finalists will be announced Nov. 30. The finalists will attend the Lott IMPACT Trophy Awards Banquet Dec. 11 at the Pacific Club in Newport Beach, where the winner will be announced live on FOX Sports. IMPACT is an acronym for Integrity, Maturity, Performance, Academics, Community and Tenacity.

Tankersley is regarded as Clemson’s top defensive back and leads the team in passes broken up with six.  He has 30 tackles, including 24 first hits and is a returning All-ACC player from the 2015 season.  He is a big reason Clemson ranks in the top 10 in the nation in pass defense and interceptions.

Boulware has 59 tackles, including four tackles for loss.  He had a career high 17 in the win over Louisville when he was named the National Defensvie Player of the Week by four organizations.