Atlantic Coast Conference Announces 2008-09 Sportsmanship Award Winners

Atlantic Coast Conference Announces 2008-09 Sportsmanship Award Winners

July 26, 2009

GREENSBORO, NC – Thomas Sensing of Wake Forest, Maggie Bernard of Clemson and the North Carolina fencing team have been named 2008-09 Atlantic Coast Conference Sportsmanship winners for the 2008-09 academic year, as announced by Commissioner John D. Swofford.

Sensing, who competes as a member of the Demon Deacons’ track and field team, received the ACC Male Sportsmanship Award, which is presented to the student-athlete who best exemplifies sportsmanship. Bernard, who runs cross country for the Tigers, received the ACC Female Sportsmanship Award, and the North Carolina fencers received the ACC Team Sportsmanship Award.

The winners were selected from a group of institutional nominees, which were submitted by Student-Athlete Advisory Committees (SAACs) and their advisors at ACC schools. Winners were determined by a review of the overall ACC SAAC. Each campus has recognized its individual and team nominees.

The UNC Fencing team and Bernard will now be considered for the NCAA’s 2008-09 National Sportsmanship Award.

To be considered, nominees must have demonstrated consistently good sportsmanship and ethical behavior in his/her daily participation in intercollegiate athletics. The student-athlete must have also demonstrated good citizenship outside of the sports-competition setting and be of good academic standing.

The complete list of 2008-09 nominees was as follows:

Boston College – Women’s Ice Hockey Team, Men’s Swimming Team

Clemson – Maggie Bernard (women’s cross country), C.J. Spiller (football)

Florida State – Melanie Cabassol (women’s swimming and diving), Drew Weatherford (football)

Georgia Tech – D’Andre Bell (men’s basketball)

Maryland – Andrew Kay (men’s golf); Hilary Lawson (women’s golf)

Miami – Brittany Viola (women’s swimming and diving)

North Carolina – Men’s Fencing Team

NC State – Kristin Davies (women’s swimming and diving)

Virginia – Marlow Bruneau (women’s volleyball); Daniel Johnson (men’s swimming)

Virginia Tech – Sara Marie Smith (women’s swimming); Paul Debnam (men’s basketball)

Wake Forest – Thomas Sensing (men’s track and field)