2007 All-ACC Academic Men’s Soccer Team Announced

2007 All-ACC Academic Men’s Soccer Team Announced

Feb. 7, 2008

GREENSBORO, N.C. – Five Atlantic Coast Conference All-ACC honorees, including the 2007 Defensive Player of the Year, secured spots on this year’s All-ACC Academic Men’s Soccer Team as announced today by Commissioner John D. Swofford. All nine schools in the league competing in men’s soccer are represented on the third annual All-ACC Academic team.

To be eligible for consideration, a student-athlete must have earned a 3.00 grade point average for the previous semester and maintained a 3.00 cumulative average during his academic career.

Virginia Tech, which made its first-ever trip to the NCAA College Cup this season, led all schools with seven honorees on the academic team. After recording a record-high eight selections last year, the Blue Devils added six to the 2007 academic squad, while Clemson, Maryland and Wake Forest notched four student-athletes each on the squad.

The four Clemson players include: David Bell, Mark Buchholz, Greg Eckhardt, and David Newton.

First-team All-ACC honorees Sam Cronin (Wake Forest), Stephen King (Maryland) and Michael Videira (Duke) join the 2007 Defensive Player of the Year Omar Gonzalez of Maryland on this year’s All-ACC Academic team. Also highlighting the talent on this year’s all-league academic team is All-ACC second-team pick Tim Jespon of Maryland and ACC All-Tournament Team honoree Michael Callahan of North Carolina.

Five of the recipients earn the accolade for the third consecutive year, while eight, including two from Wake Forest’s 2007 national championship squad, collected their second All-ACC Academic Men’s Soccer Team recognition.

Wake Forest, led by head coach Jay Vidovich, claimed its first-ever men’s soccer national championship, finishing the season ranked No. 1 in the nation with a record of 22-2-2, the best mark in WFU soccer history.

2007 All-ACC Academic Men’s Soccer Team

Name, Class, School Major

Stephen Hepburn, Jr., Boston College^ Finance

David Bell, Sr., Clemson^ Electrical Engineering

Mark Buchholz, Sr., Clemson** Marketing

Greg Eckhardt, So., Clemson Pre-Business

David Newton, So., Clemson Civil Engineering

Paul Dudley, Sr., Duke History

Joe Germanese, Sr., MF, Duke^ Economics

Tim Jepson, Sr., D, Duke** Sociology

Josh Medcalf, G, Duke Liberal Studies

Justin Papadakis, Sr., Duke** Public Policy Studies

Michael Videira, Sr., Duke** Sociology

Omar Gonzalez, So., Maryland^ Undeclared

Stephen King, Sr., Maryland** Finance

William Swaim, Fr., Maryland History

Drew Yates, So., Maryland^ History

Michael Callahan, Jr., North Carolina Economics

Bill Dworsky, So., North Carolina^ Undeclared

Chris Widman, So., NC State Economics

Zola Short, Sr., Virginia Foreign Affairs

Markus Aigner, Jr., Virginia Tech Economics

Alex Baden, Jr., Virginia Tech Management

Charlie Campbell, So., Virginia Tech^ Business

Scott Dillie, Jr., Virginia Tech Finance

Stefan Hock, Jr., Virginia Tech Accounting and Information Systems

Marcus Reed, Sr., Virginia Tech Mechanical Engineering

Georg Zehender, Sr., Virginia Tech Physical Education

Evan Brown, Jr., Wake Forest Business

Sam Cronin, Jr., Wake Forest^ Political Science

Zack Schilawski, So., Wake Forest^ Undeclared

Julian Valentin, Sr., Wake Forest English

^denotes second-year honoree

**denotes third-year honoree