Search

Men’s Soccer Schedule Announced

June 16, 1999

CLEMSON, S.C. – The Clemson men’s and women’s soccer schedules were released Wednesday afternoon.

The Clemson Men’s Soccer Schedule will feature the six tough Atlantic Coast Conference foes along with non-conference opponents Davidson, Appalachian State, Charleston Southern, South Carolina, Winthrop, Loyola of Chicago, UNC-Charlotte, Furman and Mercer. The Tigers will also participate in the Ohio State Buckeye Classic as the Tigers will face Penn State and Ohio State in this event.

Clemson will also play host to the Clemson/Nike Invitational on October 1 & 3. Furman, Akron, and Santa Clara will participate in this Tournament.

The Tigers will have an exhibition match with defending National Champion Indiana on September 28. Indiana defeated Clemson 2-1 in the NCAA Final Eight last season at Riggs Field. The Hoosiers went on to win the National Championship in Richmond last December.

The Tigers return seven starters and 19 letterwinners off the 1998 team that finished with a 22-2 record overall. Clemson is the defending Atlantic Coast Conference Champions and advanced to the NCAA Tournament’s Final Eight. Clemson finished first in the Soccer America poll and fourth in the final NSCAA poll.

Clemson will open the 1999 season on September 1, as the Tigers will play host to Davidson at 7:00 p.m.

1999 CLEMSON MEN’S SOCCER

Aug.    28 (Sat.)   INDIANA (Exhib.)          7:00 p.m. Sept.    1 (Wed.)   DAVIDSON                  7:00 p.m. 

Ohio State Buckeye Classic, Columbus, OH Sept. 3 (Fri.) Penn St. 3:00 p.m. Sept. 5 (Sun.) at Ohio State 2:15 p.m

Sept. 12 (Sun.) * at North Carolina 2:00 p.m. Sept. 15 (Wed.) APPALACHIAN ST. 7:00 p.m. Sept. 18 (Sat.) * DUKE 7:00 p.m. Sept. 22 (Wed.) CHARLESTON SOUTHERN 7:00 p.m. Sept. 25 (Sat.) * at N.C. State 1:00 p.m.

CLEMSON/NIKE INVITATIONAL Oct. 1 (Fri.) Furman vs. Akron 5:00 p.m. Clemson vs. Santa Clara 7:30 p.m. Oct. 3 (Sun.) Furman vs. Santa Clara 12:30 p.m. Clemson vs. Akron 3:00 p.m.

Oct. 9 (Sat.) SOUTH CAROLINA 7:00 p.m. Oct. 13 (Wed.) WINTHROP 7:00 p.m. Oct. 16 (Sat.) * at Virginia 7:00 p.m. Oct. 20 (Wed.) LOYOLA of CHICAGO 7:00 p.m. Oct. 24 (Sun.) UNC-CHARLOTTE 3:30 p.m. Oct. 27 (Wed.) at Furman 7:00 p.m. Oct. 30 (Sat.) * MARYLAND 7:00 p.m. Nov. 3 (Wed.) MERCER 7:00 p.m. Nov. 7 (Sun.) * WAKE FOREST 2:00 p.m. Nov. 11-14 (Thur.- ACC Tournament (Winston-Salem, NC) Sun.) *Denotes ACC Matches

News