Search

Clemson Volleyball Team Announces 2004 Schedule

May 10, 2004

CLEMSON, S.C. – The Clemson volleyball team’s 2004 schedule was released today by head coach Jolene Jordan Hoover. The schedule features eight matches against seven teams that advanced to post-season play in 2003. The 2004 season will also be the first year that the Tigers will face the University of Miami (FL) and Virginia Tech as conference foes.

“Our philosophy regarding scheduling has been to continue to compete against the elite programs in the country,” said Hoover. “We faced Nebraska in 2003, and Florida is on our schedule for 2004. Florida competed in the finals of the NCAAs last season, and three more teams on this year’s schedule advanced to the second round of the national tournament. We return a strong senior class, as well as adding some very talented incoming players. With the expansion of the ACC and having top opponents from outside of our league on our schedule, I feel that we have a very competitive schedule and that gives us a tremendous opportunity to be very successful.”

The 2004 Tigers will open their season on Sept. 1 as they play host to Western Carolina in a 7:00 PM match. The Clemson Invitational tournament is scheduled for Sept. 3-4, and will include The Citadel, Northern Iowa, Western Carolina and Winthrop. On Sept. 7, Clemson will travel to Columbia for the annual match with the University of South Carolina. The Tigers will then return to Jervey Gym for the Big Orange Bash on Sept. 10-11. The University of Georgia Bulldogs come to town on Sept. 14, the Clemson travels to the University of Florida Classic on Sept. 17-18, in which the Tigers will face teams from Florida, Santa Barbara and Connecticut.

Clemson’s Sept. 24 match at home against the NC State Wolfpack will open the Tigers’ conference slate. Following two more home matches against North Carolina and Georgia Tech, Clemson will face Virginia Tech in Blacksburg on Oct. 1 as the Tigers and Hokies meet as ACC rivals for the first time. Clemson remains on the road with matches against Furman, Duke and Wake Forest then returns home for matches against Maryland and Virginia. Clemson travels to North Carolina and NC State, then will enjoy six home matches, including ACC contests against Miami, Florida State, Wake Forest and Duke. The Tigers will face Virginia and Maryland on their home courts to wrap up the regular season. This year’s ACC Championships, scheduled for Nov. 18-21, will be hosted by the University of Virginia.

2004 Clemson Volleyball Schedule

Sept. 1 Wed WESTERN CAROLINA 7:00 p.m.
Sept. 3-4 Fri-Sat CLEMSON INVITATIONAL TBD
Sept. 7 Tues @South Carolina 7:00 p.m.
Sept. 10-11 Fri-Sat BIG ORANGE BASH TBD
Sept. 14 Tues UNIVERSITY OF GEORGIA 7:00 p.m.
Sept. 17-18 Fri-Sat @Florida Classic TBD
Sept. 24 Fri #NORTH CAROLINA STATE UNIVERSITY 7:00 p.m.
Sept. 25 Sat #UNIVERSITY OF NORTH CAROLINA 6:00 p.m.
Sept. 28 Tues #GEORGIA TECH 7:00 p.m.
Oct. 1 Fri #@Virginia Tech 7:00 p.m.
Oct. 5 Tues @Furman University 7:00 p.m.
Oct. 8 Fri #@Duke University TBD
Oct. 9 Sat #@Wake Forest University TBD
Oct. 15 Fri #UNIVERSITY OF MARYLAND TBD
Oct. 16 Sat #UNIVERSITY OF VIRGINIA 6:00 p.m.*
Oct. 22 Fri #@University of North Carolina TBD
Oct. 23 Sat #@North Carolina State University 7:00 p.m.
Oct. 26 Tues GEORGIA SOUTHERN UNIVERSITY 7:00 p.m.
Oct. 29 Fri #UNIVERSITY OF MIAMI 7:00 p.m.
Oct. 30 Sat #FLORIDA STATE UNIVERSITY 6:00 p.m.*
Nov. 2 Tues GEORGIA STATE UNIVERSITY 7:00 p.m.
Nov. 5 Fri #WAKE FOREST UNIVERSITY 7:00 p.m.
Nov. 6 Sat #DUKE UNIVERSITY 6:00 p.m.
Nov. 12 Fri #@University of Virginia 7:00 p.m.
Nov. 13 Sat #@University of Maryland 5:00 p.m.
Nov. 18-21 ACC Championships @University of Virginia TBD
Dec. 2-5 NCAA First & Second Rounds TBD
Dec. 10-11 NCAA Regional Championships TBD
Dec. 16-17 NCAA Final Four TBD

Home matches in CAPS *Denotes match time may change due to football game #Denotes ACC match

News