Search

Clemson Men’s Soccer Schedule Announced

May 24, 2001

CLEMSON, SC – The 2001 Clemson men’s soccer schedule was released by Tiger Head Coach Trevor Adair Thursday.

This year’s schedule has the Tigers opening the 2001 season at the Cal State-Fullerton Invitational in Fullerton, CA on August 31-September 2. Clemson’s first home match is September 5th as the Tigers play host to Georgia State. A feature of this year’s schedule will be the Tigers playing host to the ACC Tournament on November 15-18 at Riggs Field.

Clemson will play in the Furman Invitational on September 7-9 and will face Florida International and Notre Dame. The Tigers will play host to the Clemson/Nike Invitational on September 28-20 as Cal-Poly SLO, Virginia Commonwealth, and Furman will be the competitors. Clemson will play host to South Carolina on Sunday, October 7th.

Clemson will also play ACC foes Duke, Maryland, and Wake Forest at home on Riggs Field.

The Tigers are returning 16 letterwinners and eight starters from last year’s team that finished with a 14-4-2 record overall. The Tigers also finished eighth in the Soccer America and NSCAA polls, and seventh in the soccertimes.com poll. Fabio Tambosi is the leading returning scorer with 14 goals and five assists for 33 points. The Tigers advanced to the NCAA Final 16 last season.

2001 Clemson Men’s Soccer Schedule

Date Opponent Time
Aug. 17 (Fri.) COLLEGE OF CHARLESTON (Exhibition) 2:00 p.m.
Bi Lo Kickoff Classic
Aug. 26 (Sun.) U.S. U-17 NATIONAL TEAM (Exhibition) 2:00 p.m.
Cal State Fullerton Invitational, Fullerton, CA
Aug. 31 (Fri.) at Cal St-Fullerton 7:00 p.m.
Sept. 2 (Sun.) California (Fullerton, CA) 4:30 p.m.
Sept. 5 (Wed.) GEORGIA STATE 7:00 p.m.
Furman Invitational, Greenville, SC
Sept. 7 (Fri.) Florida International, (Greenville, SC) 5:00 p.m.
Sept. 9 (Sun.) Notre Dame, (Greenville, SC) 12:30 p.m.
Sept. 14 (Fri.) *DUKE 7:00 p.m.
Sept. 23 (Sun.) *at NC State 2:00 p.m.
Clemson NIKE Soccer Invitational, Clemson, SC
Sept. 28 (Fri.) CAL POLY S.L.O. 7:30 p.m.
Sept. 30 (Sun.) VIRGINIA COMMONWEALTH 3:00 p.m.
Oct. 7 (Sun.) SOUTH CAROLINA 2:00 p.m.
Oct. 10 (Wed.) WOFFORD 7:00 p.m.
Oct. 13 (Sat.) *at Virginia 7:00 p.m.
Oct. 17 (Wed.) at Furman 7:00 p.m.
Oct. 21 (Sun.) DAVIDSON 3:30 p.m.
Oct. 24 (Wed.) GARDNER-WEBB 7:00 p.m.
Oct. 28 (Sun.) *MARYLAND 2:00 p.m.
Nov. 3 (Sat.) *at North Carolina 7:00 p.m.
Nov. 9 (Fri.) *WAKE FOREST 7:00 p.m.
Nov. 15-18 (Thur.-Sun.) ACC TOURNAMENT at Clemson, SC

*Denotes Atlantic Coast Conference Match

News