Search

2011 Clemson Women’s Soccer Schedule Announced

June 16, 2011

CLEMSON, SC – Head Coach Eddie Radwanski has announced the Clemson women’s soccer schedule for the 2011 season. The Tigers will play 11 games at home at Historic Riggs Field in 2011, while going on the road for seven contests. Nine of the Clemson’s 18 opponents were selected to play in the 2010 NCAA Tournament, and eight of the nine won at least one game in the national tournament.

“We are looking forward to our first season here at Clemson,” said Radwanski. “There will be a number of exciting matches for Clemson fans to see at Historic Riggs Field this fall. I’m looking forward to seeing our team compete and play against some of the best teams in the country.”

The 2011 preseason will include exhibition games against South Florida and Alabama. The Tigers will play host to the Bulls on Friday, August 12 and will travel to Tuscaloosa to face the Crimson Tide on Sunday, August 14.

Clemson will open the 2011 regular season with home games against South Carolina State on Friday, August 19 and the Citadel on Monday, August 22. The team’s two non-conference road games will be played at Presbyterian College on Sunday, August 28 and at Appalachian State on Friday, September 2. The Tigers will return to Historic Riggs Field to take on Northeastern on Sunday, September 4.

The Carolina’s Cup will be held in Clemson in 2011, and will see the Tigers face their final two non-conference opponents before opening the Atlantic Coast Conference season. Clemson will play host to in-state rival South Carolina on Friday, September 9 and Furman on Sunday, September 11 in the tournament.

The Tigers will open the 2011 ACC season on the road, as they will face Miami in Coral Gables on Thursday, September 15. The trip to Coral Gables will be followed by four league contests at home at Historic Riggs Field, beginning with a matchup against Florida State, an NCAA Elite Eight team in 2010, on Thursday, September 22.

Clemson will play host to Duke on Sunday, September 25 and Maryland on Thursday, September 29. On Sunday, October 2, the Tigers will face 2010 NCAA Semifinalist Boston College at Historic Riggs Field before hitting the road for four straight league games.

The team will travel to Chapel Hill, NC on Friday, October 7 to play North Carolina. On Thursday, October 13 and Sunday, October 16, the Tigers will face Virginia Tech and Virginia, respectively, during a road trip through the Commonwealth state. Clemson’s last ACC game away from home will be against N.C. State in Raleigh, NC on Thursday, October 20.

The Tigers’ will play their final two regular season games at home, beginning with their last league contest of the season against Wake Forest on Sunday, October 23. Clemson will play host to Francis Marion and will honor its 2011 seniors in their final regular season game at Historic Riggs Field on Thursday, October 27.

The ACC Championships will have a slightly different format in 2011. The top eight teams in the conference will advance to the conference tournament as usual, however, the four quarterfinal round games will be played at the home sites of the top-four-seeded teams. The quarterfinal games at the campus sites will take place on Sunday, October 30. The ACC Championship semifinals and finals will be held at WakeMed Soccer Park in Cary, NC. The two semifinal games will be played on Friday, November 4 and the tournament will conclude with the title game on Sunday, November 6.

2011 Clemson Women’s Soccer Schedule

News